Last Best League by Jim Collins
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Last Best League
By Jim Collins

The Last Best League

One Summer, One Season, One Dream

By (author) See other recent books by Jim Collins
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $26.99
Your Price: $24.29 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.21 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Last Best League by Jim Collins

Book Description

Every summer, in ten small towns across Cape Cod, the finest college baseball players in the country gather in hopes of making it to "The Show." The hopes are justifiably high: The Cape Cod Baseball League is the best amateur league in the world, producing one out of every six major league players, from Nomar Garciaparra and Frank Thomas to Jeff Bagwell and Barry Zito.Jim Collins chronicles a season in the life of one team--the Chatham A's, perhaps the most celebrated team in the league. Set against the backdrop of a resort town on the bend of the outer Cape, the story charts the changing fortunes of a handful ?of players battling slumps and self-doubt in their effort to make the league playoffs and, more importantly, impress the major league scouts.We learn about everything from the physics of wooden bats and the physiology of elbows to the psychology of slumps and the lure of drugs. In the course of a single dramatic season, with euphoric wins and devastating losses, we come to know the intricacies of the major league scouting network and the rapidly changing profile of major league baseball.In the tradition of The Boys of Summer, The Last Best League is about dreams fulfilled and dreams denied, about Cape Cod and the rites of summer, and about the way one small town grows to love a group of young men coming of age in America.

Buy Last Best League book by Jim Collins from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780306814181
ISBN-10: 0306814188
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 20mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Da Capo Press Inc
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 23-Feb-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Jim Collins

Something Extra to Think About by Jim Collins Something Extra to Think About, Paperback (November 2015)

Something Extra to Think About is Jim's second compilation of Modern Day Parables which he writes for a local newspaper under the heading of 'Thought for the week' using everyday circumstances, topical issues and seasonal incidents.

Halftime by Jim Collins Halftime, Hardback (October 2015)

When all you've done seems to matter less and your heart craves more meaning, when you're entering the second half of life and unsure what your calling is for this season... you're in Halftime. Updated and expanded for a new generation of leaders, Bob Buford's bestseller shows you how to make the second half of life more rewarding than the first.

» View all books by Jim Collins


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Last Best League book by Jim Collins and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Jim Collins

Jim Collins is former editor of Yankee magazine, a native New Englander, and a former college baseball player at Dartmouth. To research The Last Best League, he relocated his family from New Hampshire to Chatham, Massachusetts, attended every game, and was given complete insider's access to the team and players. He is an accomplished magazine writer whose work has twice been included in Best American Sportswriting.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Jim Collins close
Secret to Abundant Living by Jim Collins
Something Extra to Think About by Jim Collins
Halftime by Jim Collins
Last Best League by Jim Collins
Something to Sing About by Jim Collins
7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Jim Collins
Something to Think About by Jim Collins
Hesselbein on Leadership by Jim Collins
Great by Choice by Jim Collins
How the Mighty Fall by Jim Collins
Management by Jim Collins
Good to Great and the Social Sectors by Jim Collins
Good to Great and the Social Sectors by Jim Collins
Built to Last by Jim Collins
High-pop by Jim Collins
High-pop by Jim Collins
Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap...and Others Don't by Jim Collins
Film Theory Goes to the Movies by Jim Collins
Uncommon Cultures by Jim Collins
Built to Last by Jim Collins
» close