Laws of the Game by Manfred Eigen
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Laws of the Game
By Manfred Eigen

Laws of the Game

How the Principles of Nature Govern Chance

By (author) See other recent books by Manfred Eigen See other recent books by Ruthild Winkler
Translated by Robert B. Kimber See other recent books by Robert B. Kimber
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $77.00
Your Price: $69.30 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $7.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $3.46 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Laws of the Game by Manfred Eigen

Book Description

Using game theory and examples of actual games people play, Nobel laureate Manfred Eigen and Ruthild Winkler show how the elements of chance and rules underlie all that happens in the universe, from genetic behavior through economic growth to the composition of music. To illustrate their argument, the authors turn to classic games--backgammon, bridge, and chess--and relate them to physical, biological, and social applications of probability theory and number theory. Further, they have invented, and present here, more than a dozen playable games derived from scientific models for equilibrium, selection, growth, and even the composition of RNA.

Buy Laws of the Game book by Manfred Eigen from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780691025667
ISBN-10: 0691025665
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 140mm x 23mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Publish Date: 22-Mar-1993
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Manfred Eigen

From Strange Simplicity to Complex Familiarity by Manfred Eigen From Strange Simplicity to Complex Familiarity, Hardback (May 2013)

This book presents a vivid argument for the almost lost idea of a unity of all natural sciences. This unity engenders the "complex familiarity" of the world in which we live and which can be described in "strangely simple" theoretical terms, leading to surprising new insights into the mysterious phenomenon of life.

» View all books by Manfred Eigen

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » When physics was scientific top dog, celebrated innovators like Erwin Schrodinger contemplated biology in books like What Is Life? Now that molecular biology is enthroned, its masters in turn have penned volumes like Monod's Chance and Necessity. Now chemists Eigen and Winkler (Max Planck Institute, Berlin) continue the tradition, drawing upon mathematical, physical, and molecular biological ideas to weave a synthesis that seeks to establish a rational or lawful basis for evolution and selection. Their ideas draw heavily upon game and set theory, essentially as developed by yon Neumann and Morgenstern. The first part of this scholarly (and smoothly translated) volume reviews probabilities and rules in board games with various levels of information, payoffs, and strategies. From there the authors develop notions of chance - the mutant molecule - acting within a system in which there are extraordinarily large numbers of alternatives: possible protein molecules, for example. Their thesis is that there is a lawful process by which certain macromolecules will be favored (selected) by the rules of the game. Early in the history of the planet, combinations of certain molecules led to an autocatalytic process - self-replicating macromolecules. Life. "Natural law" can be interpreted, therefore, in terms of thermodynamics and statistical mechanics. These are the forces that channel or tame chance so that certain directions are chosen. The many short chapters, diagrams, games, aphorisms, and literary references that the authors use to amplify the theme lend a certain charm and sophistication to the book. But the essential game theoretic basis will be challenged by those scholars who have lately taken to question the bases for "rational" or "optimal" strategies. No doubt others will find the attempt to fit all of nature from inert pebble to works of art or music into one grand scheme of game-play either hubris or the ultimate reductionism. From the point of view of philosophy or history of science, the thesis is at once provocative and also characteristic of that German philosophical Weltanschauung - a romantic idealism with "emergent" entities - that follows in the tradition of Leibniz and Goethe. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Laws of the Game book by Manfred Eigen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Manfred Eigen close
From Strange Simplicity to Complex Familiarity by Manfred Eigen
»
Recent books by Ruthild Winkler close
Laws of the Game by Ruthild Winkler
»
Recent books by Robert B. Kimber close
Cosmopolitanism and the National State by Robert B. Kimber
We Took to the Woods by Robert B. Kimber
Anne Frank by Robert B. Kimber
Laws of the Game by Robert B. Kimber
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close