Google Book Preview
Leonardo Da Vinci by Christiane Weidemann
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Leonardo Da Vinci
By Christiane Weidemann

Leonardo Da Vinci

By (author) See other recent books by Christiane Weidemann
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...



Leonardo Da Vinci by Christiane Weidemann

Book Description

This book explores Leonardo da Vinci's unique artistic talents and at the same time introduces Leonardo the mathematician, urban planner, cartographer, poet, musician, astronomer, and medical scientist. Readers will learn what daily life was like in Leonardo's time and in the tiny Tuscan village where he was born. They'll witness the scientific discoveries that inspired the young artist and the cultural forces that nourished his creative spirit. This book features high quality reproductions of his most famous works along with notebook sketches of dissected bodies, flying machines, and even robots. The artist's personal life is told through fascinating anecdotes that look beyond the myth to bring the man into clearer focus. Throughout, the author's engaging tone allows readers to experience familiar masterpieces with a fresh eye.

Buy Leonardo Da Vinci book by Christiane Weidemann from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9783791343365
ISBN-10: 379134336X
Classification: Renaissance art , Individual artists, art monographs
Format: Paperback (235mm x 195mm x 11mm)
Pages: 128
Imprint: Prestel
Publisher: Prestel
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2010
Country of Publication: Germany

You might also like...

Leonardo Da Vinci by Giorgio Vasari Leonardo Da Vinci by Giorgio Vasari

Often called "the first art historian", the author writes with delight on the lives of Leonardo and other celebrated Renaissance artists.

Leonardo 1452-1519 by Pietro C. Marani Leonardo 1452-1519 by Pietro C. Marani

Representing an opportunity to admire and understand, Leonardos extraordinary complexity as an artist, painter and sketcher, and, in part, his work as a scientist and technologist, this book illustrates some central themes in Leonardos entire artistic and scientific career, underlining some constants in his vision as an artist and more.

Michelangelo's David by John T. Paoletti Michelangelo's David by John T. Paoletti

This book presents new archival sources, suggests new interpretations of the David, and connects the statue to contemporary historical events in Florence.

Piero's Light by Larry Witham Piero's Light by Larry Witham

In the tradition of The Swerve and Galileo's Daughter, Piero's Light reveals how art, religion and science came together at the dawn of the modern world in the paintings of one remarkable artist

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Christiane Weidemann

Year in Art by Christiane Weidemann Year in Art, Hardback (August 2015)

Now available in a new edition, this unique book allows kids to interactively explore the world's great masterpieces through games, puzzles, colouring and other activities.

50 Modern Artists You Should Know by Christiane Weidemann 50 Modern Artists You Should Know, Paperback (August 2010)

A century and a half of masterpieces is covered in this chronologically arranged volume that beautifully captures the development of art in a new age.

» View all books by Christiane Weidemann

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Leonardo Da Vinci book by Christiane Weidemann and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Christiane Weidemann close
Year in Art by Christiane Weidemann
50 Modern Artists You Should Know by Christiane Weidemann
50 Women Artists You Should Know by Christiane Weidemann
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close