Let There be Lite by Rupert Morgan
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Let There be Lite
By Rupert Morgan

Let There be Lite

By (author) See other recent books by Rupert Morgan
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $32.99
Your Price: $29.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.48 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Let There be Lite by Rupert Morgan

Book Description

On a planet remarkably similar to our own, in the voraciously capitalist United States of Atlantis, the most powerful (i.e. richest) man in the world is media and IT tycoon John Lockes, who made his fortune by copyrighting the Return Key on computer keyboards. But Lockes is also a philanthropist and has, through his company Infologix, devised a scheme that will effectively end all crime: tiny transmitters will be 'implanted' into convicted felons, allowing them to be tracked at all times by satellite. Once this 'Rectag' technology is in place, all that remains is to launch the satellite. But Lockes is an elusive figure, a man of many secrets and many guises. And the man who perhaps knows him best is embittered investigative journo-turned-tabloid hack Macauley Connor. Realizing he's reached rock bottom when he's sent to investigate a farmer who claims his chickens have been abducted by aliens, he readily accepts a commission to write a warts-'n'-all biography of Lockes. Meanwhile, a beautiful astronaut and an Infologix employee fall in love in orbit, a presidential candidate discovers he will stop at nothing to get elected and a bank heist goes horribly, and hysterically, wrong when two rival gangs hit the same place at the same time. Wicked, anarchic, outrageous and ebullient, Let There Be Lite is a first novel that takes some unerringly accurate swipes at - amongst other things - American politics, presidential elections, spin doctors, tabloid journalism, software billionaires, the fashion industry, fast food and food fads, chat shows (here hosted by the utterly asinine Lola Colaco) and the very nature of celebrity. Imagine Gary Larson's cartoons in novel form or The Fast Show on speed and you've some idea of what sort of glorious anarchy to expect within the covers of Let There Be Lite...'Rupert Morgan's satire of modern life is brilliant. He is like Ben Elton at his wittiest but minus the worthiness: although he makes salient points about our time, taking swipes at democracy, big business, justice and celebrity - you don't feel as if they are being rammed down your throat. His writing is fast and his characterization superb...Definitely one to watch' The Express 'Satire which takes you up to the edge of libellous - and gets away with it. ..Nothing is spared by Rupert Morgan's blistering pen: neither love, family, democracy, race relations, politics, nor journalism. Atlanta is a place where logic is dangerously inverted and morality a dangerously old-fashioned concept. As a story it rattles along with the pace of a thriller. As an inventive swipe at the Establishment, it will make you laugh while you wince' Daily Mail 'Bittersweet, laugh-out-loud funny, and all too true' FAY WELDON 'Outstanding...Fans of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams will adore this dazzling satire on the digital age, but it is startlingly original from its side-splitting first lines to the thoughtful conclusion...Packed with fresh comic touches' amazon.co.uk 'Rupert Morgan's irrepressible wit sees humour wherever he looks. The plot unfolds like a firework display, one explosion after another, each one more outrageous than the one before...The pace of the performance builds up into a grand finale that leaves you gasping and wide-eyed. This is a first novel by someone who has perfected his craft. The interweavings of plot and character are skilfully executed. But above all it is so good to be made to laugh - really laugh. This is one of those books, like Louis de Berniere's, which will have your friends and family furiously demanding to see what you are reading that makes you so roar with laughter' Oxford Times 'Amusing and inventive' PETER ACKROYD 'You must read Rupert Morgan's outstanding Let There Be Lite...It's fast-moving and hilarious...Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams will be spitting feathers' Esquire 'At its best when taking pot-shots at a wide variety of modern ills - fast food, tabloid media, downsizing, soap-opera politics...One of Morgan's nicer inventions is a computer program that boils down complex texts to their essentials. Its treatment of the Old Testament renders it down to: "Because I say so, that's why"' Independent 'The match of the madder moments of John Irving or Tom Sharpe...this is a promisingly entertaining "lite" read' The Times 'A really brilliant first novel, he is obviously a major talent' PRUNELLA SCALES

Buy Let There be Lite book by Rupert Morgan from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780553812848
ISBN-10: 055381284X
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 24mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group)
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Rupert Morgan

Rule No. 1 by Rupert Morgan Rule No. 1, Paperback (May 2012)

The world is full of fanatics, and the dry, ravaged dictatorship of Errat has more than its fair share, but Saman Massoudi is not one of them. Although he is very enthusiastic about his bees. The world is full of violence, and more people get killed in Errat than most places, but Saman Massoudi never killed anyone.

» View all books by Rupert Morgan

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » Set in the United Staes of Atlantis - a strangely familiar realm on a hidden planet beyond the sun - Morgan's Swiftian satire on modern politics and society is acute, heartless and very, very funny. Aspiring president Michael Summerday needs the public support of powerful computer magnate John Lockes, head of software developers Infologix and richest man in the world. But that support comes at a price - Summerday must adopt Locke's controversial new crime-control surveillance scheme. Meanwhile, jaded hack Macaulay Connor is hired to write the ultimate expose of Lockes and his world. From here on in everything starts to go wrong as the crime scheme misfires, Lockes springs a big surprise on Connor and eveyrone's plans go spectacularly awry. Dark, uncompromising and manipulative, this makes a hilarious but ultimately disturbing read. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Let There be Lite book by Rupert Morgan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Rupert Morgan

Rupert Morgan was born in London in 1965, to Scottish parents. He currently lives, with his wife and two daughters, on a boat in Paris. Rule No.1 is his third novel. His first two, Let There Be Lite and Something Sacred, are also available in Bantam paperback. Rupert Morgan can be contacted on rupert.morgan@wanadoo.fr

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Rupert Morgan close
Rule No. 1 by Rupert Morgan
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close