Lewis Carroll in Numberland by Robin Wilson
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Lewis Carroll in Numberland
By Robin Wilson

Lewis Carroll in Numberland

His Fantastical Mathematical Logical Life

By (author) See other recent books by Robin Wilson
Format: Hardback

Checking availability...



Lewis Carroll in Numberland by Robin Wilson

Book Description

Just when we thought we knew everything about Lewis Carroll, here comes a highly original biography that will appeal to Alice fans everywhere. Fascinated by the inner life of Charles Lutwidge Dodson, Robin Wilson, a Carroll scholar and a noted mathematics professor, has produced this revelatory book filled with more than one hundred striking and often playful illustrations that examines the many inspirations and sources for Carroll's fantastical writings, mathematical and otherwise. As Wilson demonstrates, Carroll who published serious, if occasionally eccentric, works in the fields of geometry, logic, and algebra made significant contributions to subjects as varied as voting patterns and the design of tennis tournaments, in the process creating imaginative recreational puzzles based on mathematical ideas. In the tradition of Sylvia Nasar's A Beautiful Mind and Andrew Hodges's Alan Turing, this is an engaging look at the incredible genius of one of mathematics' and literature's most enigmatic minds.

Buy Lewis Carroll in Numberland book by Robin Wilson from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780393060270
ISBN-10: 0393060276
Format: Hardback
(250mm x 150mm x 23mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: WW Norton & Co
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Publish Date: 26-Dec-2009
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Robin Wilson

Northern Ireland Experience of Conflict and Agreement by Robin Wilson Northern Ireland Experience of Conflict and Agreement, Paperback (May 2016)

Presents a salutory warning to the international community against the fashionable but superficial view that there is an "Irish model" which can be exported to cauterise ethnic troubles around the globe.

Combinatorics: A Very Short Introduction by Robin Wilson Combinatorics: A Very Short Introduction, Paperback (April 2016)

Combinatorics is a large branch of mathematics involving the counting, selecting, and arranging of objects. Robin Wilson explores the field, looking at problems such as the shortest routes from A to B, to the number of Sudoku puzzles possible.

Combinatorics: Ancient & Modern by Robin Wilson Combinatorics: Ancient & Modern, Paperback (February 2015)

Combinatorics is the branch of discrete mathematics that studies (and counts) permutations, combinations, and arrangements of sets of elements. This book constitutes the first book-length survey of the history of combinatorics and uniquely assembles research in the area that would otherwise be inaccessible to the general reader.

Four Colors Suffice by Robin Wilson Four Colors Suffice, Paperback (December 2013)

On October 23, 1852, Professor Augustus De Morgan wrote a letter to a colleague, unaware that he was launching one of the most famous mathematical conundrums in history - one that would confound thousands of puzzlers for more than a century. This book tells the amazing story of how the "map problem" was solved.

» View all books by Robin Wilson

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lewis Carroll in Numberland book by Robin Wilson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Robin Wilson close
Northern Ireland Experience of Conflict and Agreement by Robin Wilson
Combinatorics: A Very Short Introduction by Robin Wilson
Combinatorics: Ancient & Modern by Robin Wilson
Four Colors Suffice by Robin Wilson
Oxford Figures by Robin Wilson
Great Mathematicians by Robin Wilson
Mathematics in Victorian Britain by Robin Wilson
Great Mathematicians by Robin Wilson
Northern Ireland Experience of Conflict and Agreement by Robin Wilson
Lewis Carroll in Numberland by Robin Wilson
Introduction to Marine Life by Robin Wilson
Music and Mathematics by Robin Wilson
Sherlock Holmes in Babylon by Robin Wilson
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close