Literature and the Taste of Knowledge by Michael Wood
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Literature and the Taste of Knowledge
By Michael Wood

Literature and the Taste of Knowledge

By (author) See other recent books by Michael Wood
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $58.95
Your Price: $53.06 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.89! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.65 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Literature and the Taste of Knowledge by Michael Wood

Book Description

What does literature know? Does it offer us knowledge of its own or does it only interrupt and question other forms of knowledge? This 2005 book seeks to answer and to prolong these questions through the close examination of individual works and the exploration of a broad array of examples. Chapters on Henry James, Kafka, and the form of the villanelle are interspersed with wider-ranging inquiries into forms of irony, indirection and the uses of fiction, with examples ranging from Auden to Proust and Rilke, and from Calvino to Jean Rhys and Yeats. Literature is a form of pretence. But every pretence could tilt us into the real, and many of them do. There is no safe place for the reader: no literalist's haven where fact is always fact; and no paradise of metaphor, where our poems, plays and novels have no truck at all with the harsh and shifting world.

Buy Literature and the Taste of Knowledge book by Michael Wood from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521606530
ISBN-10: 0521606535
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 12mm)
Pages: 216
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 29-Sep-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Michael Wood

Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3) by Michael Wood Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3), Paperback (May 2017)

'DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths The third book in Michael Wood's darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Outside Looking in by Michael Wood Outside Looking in, Paperback (July 2016)

'DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths The second book in Michael Wood's darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

» View all books by Michael Wood

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Literature and the Taste of Knowledge book by Michael Wood and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Michael Wood

Michael Wood is the Charles Barnwell Straut Professor of English and Professor of Comparative Literature at Princeton University. Currently he is the Chair of the English Department at Princeton and, from 1995-2001, he was the Director of Gauss Seminars in Criticism at Princeton. He is the recipient of many fellowships and honours, including a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship and is an ongoing Fellow of the New York Institute for the Humanities. He is an editiorial board member of Kenyon Review. His works include books on Stendhal, Garcia Marquez, Nabakov, Kafka, and films. Additionally, he is a widely published essayist, with articles on film and literature in London Review of Books, New York Review of Books, New York Times Book Review, New Republic and others.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Michael Wood close
Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3) by Michael Wood
On Empson by Michael Wood
From Creation to the Gospel by Michael Wood
Outside Looking in by Michael Wood
Shakespeare: Poet and Citizen by Michael Wood
For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood
Essays and Reviews by Michael Wood
Law and Politics of the Kosovo Advisory Opinion by Michael Wood
Alfred Hitchcock by Michael Wood
Italo Calvino by Michael Wood
Tigers of the Death's Head by Michael Wood
Film: A Very Short Introduction by Michael Wood
Kalila and Dimna by Michael Wood
Michael R. Wood, Etc., Petitioner, V. Chace Company Advertising, Inc., et al. U.S. Supreme Court Transcript of Record with Supporting Pleadings by Michael Wood
Story of England by Michael Wood
Love's Work by Michael Wood
Mourning Diary by Michael Wood
Practice of Contemplative Photography by Michael Wood
International Law Commission 1999-2009 by Michael Wood
Yeats and Violence by Michael Wood
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close