Lost Kingdoms of Africa by Jeffrey Tayler
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Lost Kingdoms of Africa
By Jeffrey Tayler

The Lost Kingdoms of Africa

By (author) See other recent books by Jeffrey Tayler
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $49.99
Your Price: $44.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.25 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Lost Kingdoms of Africa by Jeffrey Tayler

Book Description

This is the account of a journey through realms of Africa so remote, so geographically and culturally isolated that their frontiers have rarely been breached. The Sahel region of the lower Sahara - whipped by ferocious winds, shrouded in secrets and home to a vast Muslim population - is the southernmost outpost of Islam's dominance in Africa. Comprising the southern Saharan regions of Chad, northern Nigeria, Niger, Mali and Senegal, they once witnessed the emergence of Africa's wealthiest and most exotic kingdoms and empires. To this day they produce some of the continent's leading writers, musicians and artists. But now, perilous and poverty-stricken, they rarely see travellers. Yet Jeffrey Tayler, crossing 2,500 miles across the Sahel by truck, taxi, bus and boat, uncovers this lost area of continent, revealing it as beset by ethnic rebellion and sectarian violence, rife with Islamic fundamentalism, yet home to people of extraordinary hospitality and fortitude.

Buy Lost Kingdoms of Africa book by Jeffrey Tayler from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780316726078
ISBN-10: 0316726079
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Little, Brown & Company
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Publish Date: 7-Apr-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Jeffrey Tayler

River of White Nights by Jeffrey Tayler River of White Nights, Hardback (July 2006)

Offers stories that are set against the backdrop of the author's descriptions of harsh weather conditions and his adventures in negotiating permission to travel in the region with Russian authorities and then navigates the Lena to its mouth in the Laptev Sea, above the Arctic Circle.

Facing the Congo by Jeffrey Tayler Facing the Congo, Paperback (May 2002)

Outstanding travel narrative about a journey up the Congo river: superbly evocative writing in the tradition of Paul Theroux and Bruce Chatwin

» View all books by Jeffrey Tayler


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lost Kingdoms of Africa book by Jeffrey Tayler and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Jeffrey Tayler

Jeffrey Tayler is a traveller and writer, working for CONDE NAST TRAVELLER, SPIN, HARPER'S MAGAZINE & ATLANTIC MONTHLY. In 2000 2 of his essays were selected by Bill Bryson for the 1st edin of THE BEST AMERICAN TRAVEL WRITING. He lives in Moscow.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Jeffrey Tayler close
River of No Reprieve by Jeffrey Tayler
River of White Nights by Jeffrey Tayler
Glory in a Camel's Eye by Jeffrey Tayler
Facing the Congo by Jeffrey Tayler
BoomerangBooks.com.au close