Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Lost Paradise
By Cees Nooteboom

Lost Paradise

By (author) See other recent books by Cees Nooteboom
Format: Hardback

Checking availability...



Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom

Book Description

Almut and Alma, two young Brazilian women, set out from Sao Paulo and wind up in Australia. Alma is recovering from a traumatic attack. She has always loved the art of the Renaissance. Specifically, she is captivated by angels - the way they fly, their stillness, what they might sound like, how they are represented. But what the women share is a fascination for Australia and its ancient peoples; their ceremonies, sand drawings and body paintings. Here, Alma begins an affair with an Aboriginal man, an artist, though he tells her that it can only last a week. He must shortly return to his people. The women become involved with the Angel Project in Perth, where actors dressed as angels are concealed around the city for the public to track down. The angels must remain still and silent, whatever response they provoke in the viewer. In a seemingly unconnected story, a man staying at a remote Alpine spa unexpectedly meets a woman he encountered years before and with whom he shared a single night. It was in a faraway city and she was dressed as an angel. "Lost Paradise" is a tale of great charm and brilliance from one of Europe's greatest writers.

Buy Lost Paradise book by Cees Nooteboom from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781843433057
ISBN-10: 1843433052
Format: Hardback
(204mm x 138mm x 20mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Harvill Secker
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 5-Jul-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Cees Nooteboom

Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom Letters to Poseidon, Paperback (March 2016)

A memoir of reflections and pictures by one of the great European novelists

Daniel Ost by Cees Nooteboom Daniel Ost, Hardback (October 2015)

The most comprehensive monograph available on the internationally renowned Belgian floral artist and designer Daniel Ost.

Sidewalks by Cees Nooteboom Sidewalks, Paperback / softback (May 2014)

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's "Watermark" and Benjamin's "The Arcades Project" by a celebrated young Mexican author.

Light Everywhere by Cees Nooteboom Light Everywhere, Hardback (March 2014)

Cees Nooteboom is best known in the English-speaking world for his acclaimed novels, essays, and travel writing; however, Nooteboom has always seen himself first and foremost as a poet. He has said, "without poetry my life would be unthinkable." This anthology covers his poetic output up to 2013, with an emphasis on his more recent work.

» View all books by Cees Nooteboom

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lost Paradise book by Cees Nooteboom and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Cees Nooteboom

Cees Nooteboom was born in the Hague in 1933. He is a poet and the author of prize-winning fiction and travel books. In 1993 he won the Aristeion European Literature Prize for his novel The Following Story. His books have been translated into many languages.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Cees Nooteboom close
Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom
Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom
Daniel Ost by Cees Nooteboom
Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom
Sidewalks by Cees Nooteboom
Light Everywhere by Cees Nooteboom
Following Story by Cees Nooteboom
Roads to Berlin by Cees Nooteboom
In the Dutch Mountains by Cees Nooteboom
Foxes Come at Night by Cees Nooteboom
Rituals by Cees Nooteboom
Roads to Berlin by Cees Nooteboom
Self-portrait of an Other by Cees Nooteboom
Foxes Come At Night by Cees Nooteboom
Brasilia-Chandigarh by Cees Nooteboom
Nomad's Hotel by Cees Nooteboom
Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom
Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom
Nomad's Hotel by Cees Nooteboom
Roads to Santiago by Cees Nooteboom
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close