Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Lost Symbol
By Dan Brown

The Lost Symbol

(Robert Langdon Book 3)

By (author) See other recent books by Dan Brown
Format: Hardback

Checking availability...



Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

Book Description

WHAT WAS LOST WILL BE FOUND...Washington DC: Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned at the last minute to deliver an evening lecture in the Capitol Building. Within moments of his arrival, however, a disturbing object - gruesomely encoded with five symbols - is discovered at the epicentre of the Rotunda. It is, he recognises, an ancient invitation, meant to beckon its recipient towards a long-lost world of hidden esoteric wisdom. When Langdon's revered mentor, Peter Solomon - philanthropist and prominent mason - is brutally kidnapped, Langdon realizes that his only hope of saving his friend's life is to accept this mysterious summons and follow wherever it leads him. Langdon finds himself quickly swept behind the facade of America's most historic city into the unseen chambers, temples and tunnels which exist there. All that was familiar is transformed into a shadowy, clandestine world of an artfully concealed past in which Masonic secrets and never-before-seen revelations seem to be leading him to a single impossible and inconceivable truth. A brilliantly composed tapestry of veiled histories, arcane icons and enigmatic codes, The Lost Symbol is an intelligent, lightning-paced thriller that offers surprises at every turn. For, as Robert Langdon will discover, there is nothing more extraordinary or shocking than the secret which hides in plain sight...

Buy Lost Symbol book by Dan Brown from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780593054277
ISBN-10: 059305427X
Classification: Thriller / suspense
Format: Hardback (240mm x 162mm x 42mm)
Pages: 528
Imprint: Bantam Press
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 25-Apr-2009
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

Dead Can Wait by Robert Ryan Dead Can Wait by Robert Ryan

Dr John Watson has another case to solve - this time it's murder on the home front. A stunning Dr Watson thriller from the author of Dead Man's Land

For Valour by Andy McNab For Valour by Andy McNab

When a young trooper is shot in the head at the Regiment's renowned Killing House, Nick Stone is perfectly qualified to investigate the mysterious circumstances more deeply. He has just returned from Moscow - still trying to come to terms with the fact that his girlfriend and baby son are safer there without him.

Butcher by Jennifer Hillier Butcher by Jennifer Hillier

For fans of Chelsea Cain and Lisa Gardner, Jennifer Hillier's latest is a riveting new high-octane suspense.

ARC of the Swallow by Sissel-Jo Gazan ARC of the Swallow by Sissel-Jo Gazan

The follow-up to The Dinosaur Feather exposes a scandal in an addictive scientific thriller.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Dan Brown

Inferno by Dan Brown Inferno, Paperback (May 2014)

Florence: Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon awakes in a hospital bed with no recollection of where he is or how he got there. Nor can he explain the origin of the macabre object that is found hidden in his belongings. A threat to his life will propel him and a young doctor, Sienna Brooks, into a breakneck chase across the city.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown Angels and Demons, Paperback (March 2013)

CERN Institute, Switzerland: a world-renowned scientist is found brutally murdered with a mysterious symbol seared onto his chest. The Vatican, Rome: the College of Cardinals assembles to elect a new pope. Somewhere beneath them, an unstoppable bomb of terrifying power relentlessly counts down to oblivion.

» View all books by Dan Brown

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lost Symbol book by Dan Brown and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Book Review: Lost Symbol by Dan Brown - Reviewed by (05 Jun 2011)

The Lost Symbol is the 3rd in Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon series. The story goes over 24 hours and starts with Langdon being flown by private jet to Washington to give a lecture as a favour to his long-time friend (and Mason), Peter Solomon. Soon enough, this turns out to be a ruse, and Langdon finds himself at the Capitol’s Rotunda where Solomon’s severed and tattooed hand is left by a mysterious man. Langdon’s expertise as a symbologist is demanded to find and solve legendary Masonic Pyramid. The CIA are involved, and soon the action hots up. This book is (of course, as a Robert Langdon novel) filled with symbols, codes and puzzles, religious icons, lots of technology, chases and escapes, a seemingly invincible villain who is not what he seems, plot twists, apparently impossible resurrections and a virtual travelogue of Washington DC. There are some obvious flaws, and we are asked to believe that some characters will bizarrely put up with...

read more

Book Review: Lost Symbol by Dan Brown - Reviewed by (07 Nov 2009)

I was anticipating big things from this book as there had been a long wait for the new Dan Brown novel. Unfortunately this one didn't live up to the hype.

It is a retelling of the same tale - somewhat freaky villain who has taken a different name and is working to his own agenda, a real "secret society" that people are somewhat wary of and a riddle that the protagonist needs to solve. I approached the book with an open mind, however the similarities were too great to ignore.

Brown's decision to follow the same story with different characters may have worked if there had been some departure from "The DaVinci Code" storyline, but there wasn't. By about the 200th page, I was starting to lose interest and in some parts the story got to a point where it was highly unbelievable. Overall, not a great book.

» Read all 2 book reviews for Lost Symbol by Dan Brown


Author Biography - Dan Brown

Dan Brown is the bestselling author of Digital Fortress, Deception Point, Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code. He is a graduate of Amherst College and Phillips Exeter Academy, where he has taught English and creative writing. He lives in New England. Visit his UK website at www.danbrownofficial.co.uk.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Dan Brown close
Digital Fortress by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Inferno by Dan Brown
Angels and Demons by Dan Brown
Deception Point by Dan Brown
Digital Fortress by Dan Brown
Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
Bath Then & Now by Dan Brown
Water, History and Style Bath World Heritage Site by Dan Brown
Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
Take Budapest by Dan Brown
Bristol by Dan Brown
Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
Bath in the Blitz by Dan Brown
Great Expectations School by Dan Brown
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close