Mailbox by Audrey Shafer
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Audrey Shafer

The Mailbox

By (author) See other recent books by Audrey Shafer
Format: Paperback / softback

Normal Price: $13.44
Your Price: $12.09 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.34! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.60 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Mailbox by Audrey Shafer

Book Description

For readers of "Unbroken" and "Flags of Our Fathers," "The Mailbox" is a sympathetic portrayal of veterans and the burdens they carry throughout their lives. Vernon Culligan had been dead to the town of Draydon, Virginia, so long that when the crusty Vietnam vet finally died, only one person noticed. Twelve-year-old Gabe grew up in the foster care system until a social worker located his Uncle Vernon two years before. When he comes home to discover that his uncle has died of a heart attack, he's terrifed of going back into the system--so he tells no one. The next day, he discovers a strange note in his mailbox: I HAVE A SECRET. DO NOT BE AFRAID. And his uncle's body is gone. Thus begins a unique correspondence destined to save the two people that depended on Vernon for everything. Through flashbacks, we learn about Gabe and Vernon's relationship, and how finding each other saved them both from lives of suffering. But eventually, Vernon's death will be discovered, and how will Gabe and the mystery note writer learn to move forward? "The Mailbox" is not a story about death--though it begins with a death. It's also not a story about Vietnam vets, although the author works with Vietnam veterans and wrote this novel, in part, to illuminate their sacrifices and suffering. "The Mailbox" is a story about connections--about how two people in need can save each other. Praise for "The Mailbox" Junior Library Guild SelectionA Bank Street College Best Children's Books of the YearA Librarians' Choices Booklist Selection" " Shafer s narrative is heartfelt, earnest and moving. . . and conveys the power of memory to help heal wounds. " Kirkus Reviews" Warm and moving, it is an evocative picture of the weblike nature of human existence and the interconnectedness of seemingly disparate experiences. " School Library Journal" "From the Hardcover edition.""

Buy Mailbox book by Audrey Shafer from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780440421344
ISBN-10: 0440421349
Format: Paperback / softback
(193mm x 132mm x 13mm)
Pages: 178
Imprint: Random House USA Inc
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Country of Publication: India

Other Editions...


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Mailbox book by Audrey Shafer and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Audrey Shafer

Audrey Shafer was born Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and completed her undergraduate studies at Harvard University, graduated from Stanford University School of Medicine, and finished anesthesiology residency at University of Pennsylvania. She currently teaches at Stanford University doing her clinical work at the Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System. She lives in Mountain View, CA wit her family. "From the Hardcover edition."

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Audrey Shafer close
» close