Male Body by Susan Bordo
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Male Body
By Susan Bordo

The Male Body

A New Look at Men in Public and in Private

By (author) See other recent books by Susan Bordo
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...



Male Body by Susan Bordo

Book Description

The male nude is everywhere now, from mainstream movies to magazine covers. But what exactly is seen when men take off their clothes, in public and in private? Is the male body truly exposed? In this surprisingly candid analysis, Pulitzer Prize nominated Susan Bordo speaks to men and women alike, scrutinising the images and experience of everyday life. Beginning with a frank, tender look at her own father's body, Susan Bordo then goes on to analyse the presentation of maleness in wider society. Men's (and women's) ideas about men's bodies are heavily influenced by society's expectations, and Bordo examines where these ideas come from. In chapters on the penis, 1950s Hollywood, male beauty standards, and sexual harassment, and in discussions of topics ranging from Marlon Brando and Boogie Nights to Philip Roth and Lady Chatterley's Lover to Michael Jordan and Lolita, she offers fresh and unexpected insights.

Buy Male Body book by Susan Bordo from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780374527327
ISBN-10: 0374527326
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 28mm)
Pages: 358
Imprint: Farrar, Straus & Giroux Inc
Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux Inc
Publish Date: 21-Mar-2001
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Susan Bordo

Provocations by Susan Bordo Provocations, Paperback (June 2015)

Emphasizing feminist cross-talk, transnational collaborations and influences, and cultural differences in context, this title heralds an approach to studying feminist history.

Creation of Anne Boleyn by Susan Bordo Creation of Anne Boleyn, Paperback (February 2015)

Power-hungry seductress... religious revolutionary... innocent victim... traitor - who was the real Anne Boleyn?

Unbearable Weight by Susan Bordo Unbearable Weight, Paperback (December 2003)

Analyzes issues connected to the body - weight and weight loss, exercise, media images, movies, advertising, anorexia and bulimia, and much more.

» View all books by Susan Bordo

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » A cheerful but probing look at the male form, seeking to prove that similar myths, fantasies, and pressures have been applied to men's and women's bodies, with some surprising parallel effects on the male and female mind. Bordo (English and Women's Studies/Univ, of Kentucky) begins her airing of the male body with her father's penis. That is, the fact that she could not imagine it leads the author to conclude that society has never bombarded us with male bodies in film, literature, magazines, and advertisements as it has done with the female form. In the vein of Roland Barthes, Bordo plows through some of the more disturbing and graphic myths of the phallus in modern times, using Philip Roth, Jockey ads, romance novels, and Seinfeld (among others) to infuse humor into such subjects as the pressure to "perform," the stereotyped ubermensch of hardened body and heart, and gender roles in the home. A recurring question is whether men and women react differently to images of the opposite sex, and Bardo answers with a resounding no. Gay culture and African-American culture, the author argues, have contributed greatly to the reintroduction of beauty to the male body, as their attitudes about public display and preening fashion have altered the mainstream American conception of masculinity. The modern man is bewildered by women's conflicting ideas as to what this male essence should be, the serene and sensitive "nice guy" or the aggressive beast and sexual machine that the mass media reifies as the only unadulterated man. The author occasionally moves too far afield, dedicating entire chapters to the Lewinsky affair and Lolita, but these too are written with style, humor, and insight. Bordo may get personal but is never too serious, and her work underlines some surprising commonalities and differences between the sexes without a whiff of demagoguery. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Male Body book by Susan Bordo and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Susan Bordo

Susan Bordo is a professor of English and women's studies at the University of Kentucky. She has written and edited several books including the Pulitzer Prize nominated Unbearable Weight and Twilight Zones: The Hidden Life of Cultural Images from Plato to O.J.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Susan Bordo close
Provocations by Susan Bordo
Creation of Anne Boleyn by Susan Bordo
Creation of Anne Boleyn by Susan Bordo
Creation of Anne Boleyn by Susan Bordo
Unbearable Weight by Susan Bordo
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close