Master's Mates by Peter Corris
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Master's Mates
By Peter Corris

Master's Mates

A Cliff Hardy Novel

By (author) See other recent books by Peter Corris
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.90 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to order, no due date



Master's Mates by Peter Corris

Book Description

Peter Corris' world weary but always charismatic hero Cliff Hardy has long been established as Australia's favourite investigator. Often bloodied but never bowed in this latest gripping novel, Hardy is in pursuit of missing millions from Sydney to the Pacific Islands. When rich, attractive Lorraine Master hires Cliff Hardy to investigate the circumstances surrounding her husband's conviction for smuggling heroin from New Caledonia, Hardy welcomes the assignment. A week on generous expenses sniffing about under a tropical sky, escape from a cold, dry spell in Sydney - just the job. But Stewart Master's mates in Noumea prove to be a difficult and dangerous bunch. The danger follows Hardy back to Sydney where he and his client become targets when an intricate conspiracy goes seriously wrong. Hardy deals with a tricky lawyer, a man on the run and Sydney's most corrupt ex-cop. He has allies as well, but in the end his survival will depend on his own guts, experience and savvy. Peter Corris's world weary but always charismatic hero Cliff Hardy has long been established as Australia's favourite investigator. Often bloodied but never bowed in this latest gripping novel, Hardy's legions of fans will relish another pacy adventure, branching further afield than his traditional mean streets territory to the steamy island paradise of French New Caledonia.

Buy Master's Mates book by Peter Corris from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781741141368
ISBN-10: 1741141362
Classification: Crime & mystery
Format: Paperback (196mm x 131mm x 19mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2003
Country of Publication: Australia

You might also like...

Lie by C. L. Taylor Lie by C. L. Taylor

This was no accident... Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

Black Run by Antonio Manzini Black Run by Antonio Manzini

Already an international hit, a sly, sizzling mystery set in the Italian Alps, the first in a sensational crime series.

Water Angels by Mons Kallentoft Water Angels by Mons Kallentoft

A darkly gripping new mystery in the internationally bestselling Malin Fors series.

Shots Fired by C. J. Box Shots Fired by C. J. Box

Ten short crime stories from the international bestseller CJ Box - three of them exclusive to this book.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Peter Corris

Beware of the Dog by Peter Corris Beware of the Dog, Paperback (December 2014)

Cliff Hardy always finds it hard to turn down a job, but in the case of Paula Wilberforce he should have followed his instincts. Against his better judgement, he becomes involved in a wealthy family's disputes, where old rivalries and hatreds come to the surface and murder is the result.

Silent Kill by Peter Corris Silent Kill, Paperback (December 2014)

Politics, murder and sex push Hardy to the limit.

Aftershock by Peter Corris Aftershock, Paperback (December 2014)

Newcastle is a stretch for Cliff Hardy from Sydney's mean streets, and following up the mystery of Oscar Bach's death means he has to cover some unfamiliar and dangerous ground.

Make Me Rich by Peter Corris Make Me Rich, Paperback (December 2014)

Hardy's sixth nail-biting caseCliff Hardy is at the party to look after the paintings and throw out the drunksgently. But there he meets Helen Broadway, who interests him; and Paul Guthrie, who wants Hardy to look for his stepson, Ray.

» View all books by Peter Corris

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » Brisk, tightly plotted and much the better of the two new Cliff Hardy imports. Like The Coast Road (see below), this one starts with Cliff -tough, smart, properly noirish-not sure he should take on the troubles of a good-looking dame. Few experienced readers will share his uncertainty. A hard-boiled dick turning down a downhearted frail? Actually, Lorraine Master is at first less downhearted than righteously angered. Her husband has just been sent up to maximum security Avonlea Prison on a 12-year stretch, and she swears it's a frame. The heroin was planted so it could be found in the false bottom of the suitcase Stewie carried into Sydney from New Caledonia. Her body-building con man is no saint, she acknowledges to Cliff, but he'd never have anything to do with drugs. Cliff's intrigued not so much by Stewie's plight as by sweet, lovely, well-heeled Lorraine, who clearly outclasses her jailbird mate: "She seemed the kind of person who expected things to turn out well for her, but minute cracks were showing." So Cliff is off to lush New Caledonia on an ample expense account, with $100,000 extra to spend for information-gathering and bribery and traces of Lorraine's perfume to serve as both bemusement and incentive. Shamus Hardy, a kind of Aussie Lew Archer, shines brightly enough to make his longevity understandable. (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Master's Mates book by Peter Corris and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Peter Corris

Peter Corris is best known as the 'father' of Australian crime fiction through his Cliff Hardy detective stories. He's written many other books, including a very successful biography of Fred Hollows and a collection of short stories revolving around the game of golf.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Peter Corris close
Beware of the Dog by Peter Corris
Silent Kill by Peter Corris
Aftershock by Peter Corris
Make Me Rich by Peter Corris
Burn, and Other Stories by Peter Corris
Casino by Peter Corris
Matrimonial Causes by Peter Corris
Wet Graves by Peter Corris
O'Fear by Peter Corris
Silent Kill by Peter Corris
Silent Kill by Peter Corris
Damned If I Do by Peter Corris
Dunbar Case by Peter Corris
Damned If I Do by Peter Corris
Standing in the Shadow by Peter Corris
Dunbar Case by Peter Corris
Comeback by Peter Corris
Comeback by Peter Corris
Dying Trade by Peter Corris
Dying Trade by Peter Corris
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close