Masters of the Baize by Luke Williams
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Masters of the Baize
By Luke Williams

Masters of the Baize

Cue Masters, Bad Boys and Forgotten Men in Search of Snooker's Ultimate Prize

By (author) See other recent books by Luke Williams See other recent books by Paul Gadsby
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $49.99
Your Price: $44.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.25 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Masters of the Baize by Luke Williams

Book Description

The top snooker players in the world compete for several trophies every year, but one carries more prestige than all the others put together - the World Championship. No other tournament in the sport carries with it so much history, so many golden moments of spectacular success and dramatic failure. Meticulously researched and including exclusive interview material with Steve Davis, Stephen Hendry and 2005 world champion Shaun Murphy, among others, "Masters of the Baize" is a comprehensive guide to the men who have lifted the greatest prize in snooker. From the legendary Joe Davis, the first champion in 1927, to modern-day masters like Mark Williams, all the sport's world champions are put under the microscope, while the colourful careers of forgotten figures such as Walter Donaldson and John Pulman and rogue heroes like Alex Higgins and Ronnie O'Sullivan are brought vividly to life. After uncovering the inauspicious origins of the game in nineteenth-century India, the authors examine every former world champion in his own comprehensive chapter. Additionally, a special section focuses on the extraordinary popularity of Jimmy White, by far the greatest player never to have won the title and one of the most emotive names in the sport.

Buy Masters of the Baize book by Luke Williams from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781840188721
ISBN-10: 1840188723
Format: Hardback
(241mm x 161mm x 25mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Mainstream Publishing
Publisher: Mainstream Publishing
Publish Date: 14-Apr-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Luke Williams

Wallet Allocation Rule by Luke Williams Wallet Allocation Rule, Hardback (January 2015)

Customer Loyalty Isn't Enough Grow Your Share of Wallet The Wallet Allocation Rule is a revolutionary, definitive guide for winning the battle for share of customers' hearts, minds, and wallets.

Why Loyalty Matters by Luke Williams Why Loyalty Matters, Paperback (March 2010)

"Why Loyalty Matters" provides compelling insight into how loyalties, large and small, offer the prescription to the emptiness many feel in their lives, and to the increasing fragmentation found in communities through failing businesses.

» View all books by Luke Williams


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Masters of the Baize book by Luke Williams and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Luke Williams

Luke Williams and Paul Gadsby are sports journalists and have been snooker fans for as long as they can remember. This is their first book.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Luke Williams close
Ice Age by Luke Williams
Ice Age by Luke Williams
Disrupt by Luke Williams
Wallet Allocation Rule by Luke Williams
Why Loyalty Matters by Luke Williams
Why Loyalty Matters by Luke Williams
Walks the Trossachs and East Loch Lomond by Luke Williams
Recent books by Paul Gadsby close
Masters of the Baize by Paul Gadsby
» close