Mathematician Plays the Stock Market by John Allen Paulos
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Mathematician Plays the Stock Market
By John Allen Paulos

A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market

New edition

By (author) See other recent books by John Allen Paulos
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $26.99
Your Price: $24.29 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.21 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days



Mathematician Plays the Stock Market by John Allen Paulos

Book Description

From America's liveliest writer on mathematics, a witty and insightful book on the stock market and the irrepressibility of our dreams of wealth. In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run , this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.

Buy Mathematician Plays the Stock Market book by John Allen Paulos from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780465054817
ISBN-10: 0465054811
Format: Paperback
(204mm x 135mm x 16mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Basic Books
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 14-Apr-2004
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author John Allen Paulos

Irreligion by John Allen Paulos Irreligion, Paperback (September 2009)

Are there any logical reasons to believe in God? This book refutes the twelve arguments that are often put forward for believing in God's existence.

Mathematician Plays the Market by John Allen Paulos Mathematician Plays the Market, Paperback (June 2004)

Offers an account of how the stock market both follows and defies mathematical principals. This title also offers an overview of various things from 'betas' to the efficient market hypothesis.

» View all books by John Allen Paulos

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Mathematician Plays the Stock Market book by John Allen Paulos and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - John Allen Paulos

John Allen Paulos' previous books include Innumeracy, Beyond Numeracy, A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper, and Once Upon a Number. He is a Professor of Mathematics at Temple University, a columnist on ABCNews.com, a member of the editorial board of the Philadelphia Daily News, and a frequent commentator on the intersection of mathematics, psychology and everyday life.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by John Allen Paulos close
Numerate Life by John Allen Paulos
Mathematician Reads the Newspaper by John Allen Paulos
Irreligion by John Allen Paulos
Mathematician Plays the Market by John Allen Paulos
Innumeracy by John Allen Paulos
I Think, Therefore I Laugh by John Allen Paulos
Once Upon a Number by John Allen Paulos
Mathematician Reads the Newspaper by John Allen Paulos
Beyond Numeracy by John Allen Paulos
Mathematics and Humour by John Allen Paulos
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close