Maurice Ravel by Maurice Ravel
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Maurice Ravel
By Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel

Rapsodie Espagnole, Mother Goose Suite, and Pavane for a Dead Princess in Full Score

By (author) See other recent books by Maurice Ravel
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $34.16
Your Price: $30.74 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.42! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.54 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Maurice Ravel by Maurice Ravel

Book Description

With the premiere in 1908 of Rapsodie Espagnole, Ravel's first entirely orchestral composition, the French composer achieved renown as a highly original and imaginative composer. In 1911, he recast the Mother Goose Suite, his extremely successful music for piano four-hands, as an orchestral work. Based on five fairy tales among them "Sleeping Beauty," "Tom Thumb," and "Beauty and the Beast" this collection of children's pieces continues to enchant listeners of all ages with its variety of moods, from jubilation to haunting despair. In 1910, more than a decade after its initial appearance as a piano work, Ravel transcribed his evocative Pavane for a Dead Princess for orchestra. To this day, it continues to be one of his best-known, most frequently performed compositions.The rich orchestral settings of these three works have made them favorites among concert-goers around the world, ensuring the popularity of this full, authoritative, and inexpensive edition."

Buy Maurice Ravel book by Maurice Ravel from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780486418995
ISBN-10: 0486418995
Format: Paperback
(298mm x 229mm x 13mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Dover Publications Inc.
Publisher: Dover Publications Inc.
Publish Date: 8-Oct-2001
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel by Maurice Ravel Maurice Ravel, Paperback (September 2004)

First-time collection of some of the composer's finest achievementsincludes the celebrated "Piano Trio" of 1914, the "Mallarme Poems, Sonata for Violin and Cello, " and "Introduction and Allegro" for harp and ensemble."

Pictures at an Exhibition by Maurice Ravel Pictures at an Exhibition, Paperback (September 2002)

This large-size paperback full score, based on the original printed score of 1929, provides a clearer and more authentic edition for conductors and students. The original engraving has been graphically enhanced and edited with reference to the amended 1953 edition.

Four Orchestral Works in Full Score by Maurice Ravel Four Orchestral Works in Full Score, Paperback (January 2000)

Includes "Rapsodie Espangnole, " Ravel's first entirely orchestral composition; the magical "Mother Goose Suite; Valses Nobles et Sentimentales;" and "Pavane for a Dead Princess." Reprinted from original full-score French editions.

» View all books by Maurice Ravel


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Maurice Ravel book by Maurice Ravel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Maurice Ravel close
Maurice Ravel by Maurice Ravel
Pictures at an Exhibition by Maurice Ravel
Four Orchestral Works in Full Score by Maurice Ravel
» close