Millionaires' Unit by Marc Wortman
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Millionaires' Unit
By Marc Wortman

The Millionaires' Unit

The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power

By (author) See other recent books by Marc Wortman
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $35.32
Your Price: $31.79 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.53! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.59 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



Millionaires' Unit by Marc Wortman

Book Description

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockefeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags Of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

Buy Millionaires' Unit book by Marc Wortman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781586484446
ISBN-10: 1586484443
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 23mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: PublicAffairs,U.S.
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 17-Apr-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Marc Wortman

1941 by Marc Wortman 1941, Hardback (February 2017)

The thrilling story of the hidden war fought by America before they entered World War II, revealing how President Roosevelt aided Churchill in the fight against the Nazis.

Bonfire by Marc Wortman Bonfire, Paperback (July 2010)

The emblematic Civil War story: the ruinous siege and burning of Atlanta, the great city of the South.

» View all books by Marc Wortman

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Millionaires' Unit book by Marc Wortman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Marc Wortman

Marc Wortman is an award-winning freelance writer whose work has appeared in numerous national magazines. He was a senior editor of the Yale Alumni Magazine, where the story of the Yale unit was originally published in the September/October 2003 issue. He also taught literature and writing at Princeton University and in a college program for inmates at Rahway State Prison in New Jersey. He lives in New Haven with his wife and daughter.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Marc Wortman close
1941 by Marc Wortman
1941 by Marc Wortman
Bonfire by Marc Wortman
Bonfire by Marc Wortman
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close