My Life as a Fake by Peter Carey
Look inside with Google Book Preview
My Life as a Fake
By Peter Carey

My Life as a Fake

By (author) See other recent books by Peter Carey
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.90 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days



My Life as a Fake by Peter Carey

Book Description

My Life As A Fake is a fantastical gothic tale, in part inspired by Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, about a hoax poet who mysteriously materialises and then pursues, taunts, haunts and otherwise destroys his maker. Two-time Booker prize winning author Peter Carey uses the Ern Malley hoax as a springboard, but the leap he takes is into the realms of richly imagined fiction. Sara, an English poetry editor on holiday in Kuala Lumpur, stumbles upon an Australian, Christopher Chubb, reading Rilke in a bicycle shop. The man shows her a scrap of poetry the like of which she's never seen. She becomes determined to get her hands on the poetry, to publish in (and revive) her ailing poetry journal. Chubb insists that Sara hear his story first. His tale is told over many sittings, and is the central story of My Life As A Fake. As a conservative young poet in Melbourne in the 1950s, Chubb decided to teach the country a lesson about pretension and authenticity. Choosing as his target the most avant-garde of the literary magazines, he submitted for publication the entire oeuvre of one Bob McCorkle, a working-class poet of raw power and sexual frankness, conveniently dead at twenty-four and entirely the product of Chubb's imagination. Not only did the magazine fall for the hoax, but its editor was prosecuted for publishing obscenity. At the trial someone uncannily resembling the man in the faked photograph of the invented McCorkle leapt to his feet. At that moment the horrified Chubb was confronted by the malevolent being he had himself manufactured. Peter Carey wickedly and ruefully explores how the phantom poet taunts, haunts and otherwise destroys his maker, pursuing Chubb from Melbourne to the seedy, sweaty, tropical chaos of Kuala Lumpur. My Life As A Fake has all the Carey trademarks and more: an irresistible narrator, a tragi-comic anti-hero, a world that is so familiar yet utterly strange and disorienting, and a story that keeps you reading way past your bedtime. My Life As A Fake is a manic, endearing and penetrating ode to fakery at its most truthful and truth at its most fake, a novel that penetrates to the heart of the alchemy of literature itself.

Buy My Life as a Fake book by Peter Carey from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781740513692
ISBN-10: 174051369X
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (198mm x 128mm x 19mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Vintage (Australia)
Publisher: Random House Australia
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2005
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Shore by Sara Taylor Shore by Sara Taylor

A novel that features various generations over the course of 150 years in interconnecting stories, and we observe a sequence of lives on the Shore - the small miracles and miseries of a community of outsiders, and the bonds of blood and fate that connect them all.

Animals - A Novel by Christian Kiefer Animals - A Novel by Christian Kiefer

For fans of Denis Johnson and Peter Matthiessen, a literary thriller from one of the most exciting new voices in American fiction.

Shore by Sara Taylor Shore by Sara Taylor

A novel that features various generations over the course of 150 years in interconnecting stories, and we observe a sequence of lives on the Shore - the small miracles and miseries of a community of outsiders, and the bonds of blood and fate that connect them all.

Guys Like Me by Dominique Fabre Guys Like Me by Dominique Fabre

An ode to Paris as rarely seen--a minutely observed tale about searching for love and a new lease on life.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Peter Carey

Amnesia by Peter Carey Amnesia, Hardback (October 2014)

When Gaby Bailleux released the Angel Worm into Australia's prison system, allowing hundreds of asylum seekers to walk free, she also let the cat out of the bag. The Americans ran the prisons, like so many parts of her country, and so the doors of some 5000 American places of incarceration also opened.

Illywhacker by Peter Carey Illywhacker, Paperback (June 2014)

Features vagabond and charlatan, aviator and car salesman, seducer and patriarch, Herbert Badgery who travels across the Australian continent. This novel is full of outlandish encounters and dangerous characters. It is overflowing with magic, jokes and inventions.

Chemistry of Tears by Peter Carey Chemistry of Tears, Paperback (March 2013)

London 2011. Catherine Gehrig, conservator at the Swinburne museum, learns of the unexpected death of her lover of thirteen years. Her employer at the museum, gives her a special project - to piece together the mechanics and the story of an extraordinary automaton, commissioned in the nineteenth century by Henry Brandling to amuse his dying son.

Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey Parrot and Olivier in America, Paperback (February 2011)

Olivier is an aristocrat, the traumatized child of survivors of the French Revolution. Parrot the son of an itinerant printer who always wanted to be an artist but has ended up a servant. Born on different sides of history, their lives will be brought together by their travels in America.

» View all books by Peter Carey

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about My Life as a Fake book by Peter Carey and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Peter Carey

Peter Carey is the multi-award-winning author of eight novels, plus two highly acclaimed collections of short stories and a memoir, Wrong About Japan. His books have won or been short-listed for every major literary award in Australia. He has won the Booker Prize twice - in 2001 for True History of the Kelly Gang and in 1988 for Oscar and Lucinda. In 1998 he won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Jack Maggs, and again in 2001 for True History of the Kelly Gang . In 2007 he won the NSW Premier's Award and the Victorian Premier's Award for Theft: A Love Story. Born in Bacchus Marsh, Victoria, Peter Carey now lives in New York.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Peter Carey close
Amnesia by Peter Carey
Amnesia by Peter Carey
Illywhacker by Peter Carey
Chemistry of Tears by Peter Carey
Chemistry of Tears by Peter Carey
Chemistry of Tears by Peter Carey
Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey
True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey
Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey
Jack Maggs by Peter Carey
Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey
Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey
Antarctica Cruising Guide by Peter Carey
Bliss by Peter Carey
His Illegal Self by Peter Carey
Data Protection by Peter Carey
His Illegal Self by Peter Carey
True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey
30 Days in Sydney by Peter Carey
His Illegal Self by Peter Carey
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close