Nomad's Hotel by Cees Nooteboom
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Nomad's Hotel
By Cees Nooteboom

Nomad's Hotel

Travels in Time and Space

By (author) See other recent books by Cees Nooteboom
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $18.34
Your Price: $16.50 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.83! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.83 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Nomad's Hotel by Cees Nooteboom

Book Description

This absurdly enjoyable collection of travel pieces by one of the world's most entertaining writers takes us from the exotic by way of Gambia, Mali and Isfahan, to the seemingly domesticated vistas of Australia and Zurich, and finds poetry and beauty in them all. What marks this collection out as something different from an ordinary travel anthology are Nooteboom's meditations on what it means to travel and to be a traveller and his quest, like that of so many other explorers, to discover the perfect hotel. This is vintage Nooteboom; a book of immense range and depth, it is an illuminating record of a world class traveller's many discoveries and insights and perfect holiday, and armchair, reading.

Buy Nomad's Hotel book by Cees Nooteboom from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099453789
ISBN-10: 0099453789
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 129mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 1-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Cees Nooteboom

Dark Premonition by Cees Nooteboom Dark Premonition, Hardback (May 2016)

Carrying Bosch s paintings in his mind and memory for 60 years, Dutch writer Cees Nooteboom describes his journeys to seven of them that he visited and studied in Lisbon, Madrid, Ghent, Rotterdam, and s-Hertogenbosch, the painter s hometown."

Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom Letters to Poseidon, Paperback (March 2016)

A memoir of reflections and pictures by one of the great European novelists

Daniel Ost by Cees Nooteboom Daniel Ost, Hardback (October 2015)

The most comprehensive monograph available on the internationally renowned Belgian floral artist and designer Daniel Ost.

Sidewalks by Cees Nooteboom Sidewalks, Paperback / softback (May 2014)

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's "Watermark" and Benjamin's "The Arcades Project" by a celebrated young Mexican author.

» View all books by Cees Nooteboom


US Kirkus Review » These journeys of prizewinning Dutch novelist Nooteboom (Lost Paradise, 2007, etc.) are as much head trips as passages through space.A footloose soul, the author finds within the cacophony of ever-changing milieus the composure in which to write. The feeling Nooteboom conveys of always floating several inches above the ground lends an appealing mystery to the places he visits. This MO works equally well for Zurich, where he admires the choreography of the swans in the lake, or the great square in Isfahan, where he conjures the heyday of mighty Persian Shah Abbas, who "once stood, lay, or sat, while watching the polo matches and races far below him. On such occasions the sides of the big terrace would be closed off, the silk curtains billowing in the wind." These travels in the mind's eye are supplemented by the author's intensely observed experiences. Of a ratty, gray hotel in Mali he writes, "it does not get much uglier than this." In Taourirt, Morocco, "I did see Death. Over in a dark corner where it is damp and cold, a pile of dirty rags lies moaning." Nooteboom conveys the excitement of things he doesn't understand, signs and languages he can't decipher, a culture that rebuffs him and the refreshing shock of the wholly unknown. Yet he also finds a bemused thrill in the quotidian. At the Ritz in Barcelona, the mirror on the cupboard opens toward the bed: "this mirror must have reflected a thing or two, but it remains silent as the earth into which so many of those guests have already disappeared." In his travels, Nooteboom discovers a balance of movement and peace, welcoming the indelible chance encounters that inevitably occur along the way.A profound engagement with travel on the astral plane. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Nomad's Hotel book by Cees Nooteboom and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Cees Nooteboom

Cees Nooteboom was born in the Hague in 1933. He is a poet and the author of prize-winning fiction and travel books. In 1993 he won the Aristeion European Literature Prize for his novel The Following Story. His books have been translated into many languages.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Cees Nooteboom close
Dark Premonition by Cees Nooteboom
Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom
Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom
Daniel Ost by Cees Nooteboom
Letters to Poseidon by Cees Nooteboom
Sidewalks by Cees Nooteboom
Light Everywhere by Cees Nooteboom
Following Story by Cees Nooteboom
Roads to Berlin by Cees Nooteboom
Rituals by Cees Nooteboom
In the Dutch Mountains by Cees Nooteboom
Foxes Come at Night by Cees Nooteboom
Roads to Berlin by Cees Nooteboom
Self-portrait of an Other by Cees Nooteboom
Foxes Come At Night by Cees Nooteboom
Brasilia-Chandigarh by Cees Nooteboom
Nomad's Hotel by Cees Nooteboom
Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom
Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom
Lost Paradise by Cees Nooteboom
» close