Notes from the Pianist's Bench by Boris Berman
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Notes from the Pianist's Bench
By Boris Berman

Notes from the Pianist's Bench

New edition

By (author) See other recent books by Boris Berman
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $38.99
Your Price: $35.09 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.90! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.75 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Notes from the Pianist's Bench by Boris Berman

Book Description

Boris Berman, an internationally known Russian-trained concert pianist and highly respected teacher, here draws on his vast experience to explore issues of piano technique and music interpretation. Combining explanations and advice with anecdotes about his students, colleagues, and former teachers, he also provides many insights into the psychological aspects of musical performance and the teaching of music. Berman thoroughly examines such practical matters in piano playing as sound and touch, technique, pedaling, and articulation. He gives tips on choosing editions, selecting the best fingering, memorizing, and making the most efficient use of practice time. He gives equal emphasis to issues of interpretation, discussing ways to decipher the inner content of a piece of music. And he offers suggestions about how to prepare emotionally for a performance, how to confront stage anxiety, and how to adapt teaching approaches to the individual students. Informative and entertaining, this book will be welcomed by piano students, teachers, and anyone else interested in the art of piano playing.

Buy Notes from the Pianist's Bench book by Boris Berman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780300093988
ISBN-10: 0300093985
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 145mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Yale University Press
Publisher: Yale University Press
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2002
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Boris Berman

Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas by Boris Berman Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas, Hardback (April 2008)

Guides pianists through Prokofiev's nine piano sonatas. The book looks at the sonatas within the context of Prokofiev's complete oeuvre. Each sonata gives general information about the work and a discussion of the composition's details and features. It also includes a section that offers suggestions for interpretation and advice for performing.

» View all books by Boris Berman


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Notes from the Pianist's Bench book by Boris Berman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Boris Berman

Boris Berman, professor of piano at the Yale School of Music, has given concerts and master classes around the world and has many recordings to his credit.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Boris Berman close
Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas by Boris Berman
» close