Nothing is Lost by Edvard Kocbek
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Nothing is Lost
By Edvard Kocbek

Nothing is Lost

Selected Poems

By (author) See other recent books by Edvard Kocbek
Translated by Michael Scammell See other recent books by Michael Scammell See other recent books by Veno Taufer
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $53.99
Your Price: $48.59 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.40! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.43 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Nothing is Lost by Edvard Kocbek

Book Description

This is the first comprehensive English-language collection of verse by the most celebrated Slovenian poet of modern times and one of Europe's most notable postwar poets, Edvard Kocbek (1904-1981). The selections introduce the reader to the full spectrum of Kocbek's long and distinguished career, starting with the pantheist and expressionist nature poems of his early period and continuing through the politically engaged poetry written during and after World War II, to the philosophical and metaphysical meditations of his fecund late period. Readers will be struck by the originality and freshness of Kocbek's sinewy and intense vision, rendered into fluid and idiomatic English by two experienced translators. The Slovenian texts appear on the facing pages. The opening stanza of "Moon with a Halo" The man beside me was killed. He had a mother who bore him and a father who made him toys, he had a brother and a playful uncle and a little girl with blond braids, he had a wooden cart and a wooden horse, a trunkful of colored dreams and a brook where he used to fish.

Buy Nothing is Lost book by Edvard Kocbek from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780691118406
ISBN-10: 069111840X
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 9mm)
Pages: 176
Imprint: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Publish Date: 16-Mar-2004
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Nothing is Lost book by Edvard Kocbek and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Edvard Kocbek

Edvard Kocbek was born in 1904, the son of a church organist, in a part of present-day Slovenia that was then in Austria-Hungary. Following the publication in 1934 of his first book of poetry, he published essays that presaged the wartime alliance of this Christian Socialist with the Tito-led partisan resistance. Despite a lengthy postwar publication ban, Kocbek went on to win the Preseren Prize, Slovenia's highest literary award, in 1964. More books of both poetry and prose followed, including his "Collected Poems" in 1977, which sealed his reputation as Slovenia's greatest modern-day poet. Michael Scammell, who teaches writing in Columbia University's School of the Arts, has translated widely from Russian, Serbo-Croatian, and Slovenian, including works by Tolstoy and Nabokov. Veno Taufer, the author of sixteen volumes of poetry in his native Slovenia and the translator of more than forty books of poetry, is the recipient of the Preseren Prize and several prestigious international awards. His verse, including the collection Waterlings (Northwestern, 2000), has been translated into numerous languages.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Edvard Kocbek close
Recent books by Michael Scammell close
Koestler by Michael Scammell
Koestler by Michael Scammell
Nothing is Lost by Michael Scammell
Gift by Michael Scammell
Luzhin Defense by Michael Scammell
Recent books by Veno Taufer close
Nothing is Lost by Veno Taufer
» close