Our Father Who Art in the Tree by Judy Pascoe
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Our Father Who Art in the Tree
By Judy Pascoe

Our Father Who Art in the Tree

By (author) See other recent books by Judy Pascoe
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...




Our Father Who Art in the Tree by Judy Pascoe

Book Awards

  • Shortlisted for YoungMinds Book Award 2003.

Book Description

'It was simple for me, the saints were in heaven and guardian angels had extendable wings like batman and my dad had died and had gone to live in the tree in the back yard.' When ten-year-old Simone's father dies, her mother Dawn is left to raise her and her brothers on her own. Grief suffuses the house, seeming to penetrate even the walls. As their mother succumbs to sorrow the children are left floundering with their own unhappiness and loss. But Simone hears her father calling to her from the Poinciana tree outside her window, and climbs the tree to listen. When she persuades her mother to climb up and listen too, the family slowly begins to heal itself.

Buy Our Father Who Art in the Tree book by Judy Pascoe from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780141008837
ISBN-10: 0141008830
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (197mm x 129mm x 12mm)
Pages: 176
Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 26-Jun-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Last Words from Montmartre by Qiu Miaojin Last Words from Montmartre by Qiu Miaojin

Last Words from Montmartre is a novel in letters that narrates the gradual dissolution of a relationship between two lovers and, ultimately, the complete unraveling of the narrator.

Company You Keep by Neil Gordon Company You Keep by Neil Gordon

A smart, action-packed political thriller from the author of The Company You Keep and You're A Big Girl Now, perfect for fans of John Le Carre.

Look to the Lady by Margery Allingham Look to the Lady by Margery Allingham

Albert Campion foils the attempted kidnapping of Val Gyrth, current heir to the Gyrth family and guardian-elect of the Chalice entrusted to the clan centuries ago. Escorting Val home to the village of Sanctuary, Campion reveals that Chalice is being targeted by an untouchable ring of wealthy thieves intent on supplementing their treasure trove.

Traces by Gamal Alghitany Traces by Gamal Alghitany

Mystical reflections on life and love by Egypt's greatest living writer.

» View more books like these...

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » Ten-year-old Simone and her three brothers are struggling to help their mother Dawn cope with the devastating and unexpected loss of their father. Grief and love have stopped the family in its tracks and the children are trying to look after their mother, 'choosing clothes for her so that she doesn't leave the house wearing one of their father's jumpers over the slips she wore to bed'. And then Simone hears her father calling to her from the huge poinciana tree in their backyard. 'It was so exciting to discover what I'd always known. If you climbed high enough in the tree in our backyard you came to another world.' Simone shares her secret with her mother who climbs the tree each night to talk and laugh and argue with her dead husband. Simone's brothers don't believe it, the Neighbourhood Watch is disapproving and the Drain Man falls in love with her. When Dawn stops visiting the tree, it begins to spread its roots further and further under the house and into the drains and even through the bedroom window, threatening the stability of both house and family. This is a triumphant debut novel from Judy Pascoe that will touch the hearts of all who read it. An evocative tale, told through the wistful hopes of Simone as she faces the reality of bereavement, it manages to be both funny and sad. The author tackles the themes of love and loyalty, superstition and religious faith with such poetic imagery and yet such simple language that readers will look at these complex and unsolvable mysteries with the fresh simplicity of a child's eye. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Our Father Who Art in the Tree book by Judy Pascoe and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Judy Pascoe

Judy Pascoe was born in Australia and lives in Gloucestershire. She is an acrobat with Circus Oz. This is her first novel.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Judy Pascoe close
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close