Patrick Parker's Progress by Mavis Cheek
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Patrick Parker's Progress
By Mavis Cheek

Patrick Parker's Progress


By (author) See other recent books by Mavis Cheek
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $14.29
Your Price: $12.86 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.43! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.64 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Patrick Parker's Progress by Mavis Cheek

Book Description

Patrick Parker, golden child of bomb-devastated Coventry, adored and encouraged by his mother, fulfils his dream destiny to be a bridge builder as great as Brunel. Audrey Wapshott, born at the same time, feels her destiny is to become the wife of handsome, brilliant Patrick. But Patrick has other plans and Audrey, miserable and abandoned, is left to follow her own journey to self-fulfilment beginning in Paris, and sinfulness, in the arms of a much older man. When their paths cross years later, wicked Audrey plots a grand and satisfying retribution.

Buy Patrick Parker's Progress book by Mavis Cheek from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780571214488
ISBN-10: 0571214487
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 127mm x 24mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 3-Mar-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Mavis Cheek

Lovers of Pound Hill by Mavis Cheek Lovers of Pound Hill, Paperback (May 2012)

When city girl Molly Bonner arrives in the village of Lufferton Boney, she creates quite a stir. With her non-country-style boots, determined manner and alluring looks, she sets off a wave of intrigue. For Molly is a girl on a mission: to discover the truth behind Lufferton Boney's resident, the giant Gnome etched into the face of Pound Hill.

Truth to Tell by Mavis Cheek Truth to Tell, Paperback (May 2011)

Nina Porter seems to have it all: husband, home, family and security. But her life turns upside down when a marital row over truthfulness sets her thinking. Isn't she dishonest herself, always playing the good wife? The perfect mother and daughter? The supportive friend?

Some Tame Gazelle by Mavis Cheek Some Tame Gazelle, Paperback (August 2009)

A charming and funny tale of parish life by an author whose many fans include Philip Larkin, Alexander McCall Smith and Jilly Cooper.

» View all books by Mavis Cheek


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Patrick Parker's Progress book by Mavis Cheek and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Mavis Cheek

Mavis Cheek was born and grew up in Wimbledon. She began her working life at Editions Alecto, the contemporary art publishers. After Alecto, she attended Hillcroft College for Women from where she graduated in Arts. After her daughter Bella was born, she began her writing career in earnest; journalism and travel writing at first, then short stories, and eventually, in 1988, her novel Pause Between Acts was published by Bodley Head and won the She/John Menzies First Novel Prize. She is the author of thirteen novels novels including Mrs Fytton's Country Life, Janice Gentle Gets Sexy and, most recently, Amenable Women which was described in The Times as 'a brilliantly funny, warm, intelligent read'. She now lives and writes in the heart of the English countryside..

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Mavis Cheek close
Lovers of Pound Hill by Mavis Cheek
Pigeon Pie by Mavis Cheek
Lovers of Pound Hill by Mavis Cheek
Truth to Tell by Mavis Cheek
Some Tame Gazelle by Mavis Cheek
Amenable Women by Mavis Cheek
Janice Gentle Gets Sexy by Mavis Cheek
Mrs Fytton's Country Life by Mavis Cheek
Yesterday's Houses by Mavis Cheek
Three Men on A Plane by Mavis Cheek
Dog Days by Mavis Cheek
Parlour Games by Mavis Cheek
Sleeping Beauties by Mavis Cheek
Sex Life of My Aunt by Mavis Cheek
Pause Between Acts by Mavis Cheek
Getting Back Brahms by Mavis Cheek
Janice Gentle Gets Sexy by Mavis Cheek
Aunt Margaret's Lover by Mavis Cheek
» close