Pavel and I by Dan Vyleta
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Pavel and I
By Dan Vyleta

Pavel and I

By (author) See other recent books by Dan Vyleta
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $49.95
Your Price: $44.96 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.99! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.25 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply, Not for Xmas



Pavel and I by Dan Vyleta

Book Description

Set during the winter of 1946, one of the coldest on record, "Pavel and I" mines post-war Berlin's messy terrain through the lives of two characters: Pavel, an American soldier who stays on after the war, and Anders, a German orphan. Their paths cross when an ailing Pavel seeks medicine on the black market for his failing kidneys. Anders follows Pavel home with thoughts of stealing from him, but ultimately stays on to help nurse him back to health. A friendship of mutual need and genuine tenderness develops. When a dead Russian spy is delivered to Pavel's frozen apartment, Pavel and Anders find themselves caught in the beginnings of a Cold War conspiracy of epic proportions. Complete with a secret love affair between Pavel and the German mistress of a menacing British military official, and peopled with pimps, prostitutes, Russian and English spies and a Lord-of-the-Flies-style gang of child thieves, "Pavel and I" is a unique, breathtaking noir novel.

Buy Pavel and I book by Dan Vyleta from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780747591931
ISBN-10: 0747591938
Format: Hardback
(193mm x 153mm x mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 3-Mar-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Dan Vyleta

Smoke by Dan Vyleta Smoke, Paperback (July 2016)

Imagine a world in which your sin is visible... addictive and intoxicating, SMOKE is a Dickensian, thrilling, rich layered novel for fans of PHILIP PULLMAN, THE SECRET HISTORY and THE PASSAGE.

Crooked Maid by Dan Vyleta Crooked Maid, Paperback (January 2015)

Graham Greene meets Dostoevsky in a thrilling and atmospheric story of guilt and restitution, set in post-war Vienna. From the author of Pavel & I and The Quiet Twin

Quiet Twin by Dan Vyleta Quiet Twin, Paperback / softback (February 2012)

Political paranoia, dangerous liaisons, and defiant compassion mark Dan Vyleta's unforgettable journey into a cityscape of totalitarian dread and deception.

Pavel and I by Dan Vyleta Pavel and I, Paperback (February 2009)

Berlin, 1946. During one of the coldest winters on record, Pavel Richter, a decommissioned GI, finds himself at odds with a rogue British Army colonel and a Soviet General when a friend deposits the frozen body of a dead Russian spy in his apartment.

» View all books by Dan Vyleta

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Pavel and I book by Dan Vyleta and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Dan Vyleta

Dan Vyleta is the son of Czech refugees who emigrated to Germany in the late 1960s. He holds a PhD in History from the University of Cambridge. He lives and works in Edmonton, Canada. This is his first novel.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Dan Vyleta close
Smoke by Dan Vyleta
Smoke by Dan Vyleta
Smoke by Dan Vyleta
Smoke by Dan Vyleta
Crooked Maid by Dan Vyleta
Crooked Maid by Dan Vyleta
Quiet Twin by Dan Vyleta
Quiet Twin by Dan Vyleta
Quiet Twin by Dan Vyleta
Pavel and I by Dan Vyleta
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close