Plays Three by Jon Fosse
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Plays Three
By Jon Fosse

Plays Three

Mother and Child; Sleep My Baby Sleep; Afternoon; Beautiful; Death Variations

By (author) See other recent books by Jon Fosse
Translated by May-Brit Akerholt See other recent books by May-Brit Akerholt
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $25.95
Your Price: $23.36 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.59! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.17 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Plays Three by Jon Fosse

Book Description

"Includes Mother and Child, Sleep My Baby Sleep, Afternoon and Death Variations Mother and Child is the intense journey of two individuals trying to connect. Like strangers on a first date, mother and son stalk each other, confronted with a shared history they cannot ignore. In Sleep My Baby Sleep, three people are in a strange unnamed place; through visual and linguistic association they try to decipher their predicament. In Afternoon, characters come and go in a flat that is for sale; they will never understand each other; someone will always insist on one thing, while others will insist on something else. In Beautiful, the past disrupts the present when a man and his family go back to his childhood valley. Conflicts simmer when husband and wife punish each other by courting his best friend, while his daughter meets a local boy. Death Variations explores different aspects of the theme of death; death of love, death of relationship, death of happiness, and finally the death of a young person. As the characters in Fosse's plays search for meaning or even just familiarity in their ruptured lives, their struggles find an echo in the rhythms and repetitions of their speech."

Buy Plays Three book by Jon Fosse from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781840024784
ISBN-10: 184002478X
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 130mm x 24mm)
Pages: 401
Imprint: Oberon Books Ltd
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Jon Fosse

Trilogy by Jon Fosse Trilogy, Paperback / softback (December 2016)

"Originally published in Norwegian as Andvake (2007), Olavs draumar (2012), and Kvldsvaevd (2014) by Det Norske Samlaget. All three books were later published together as Trilogien by Det Norske Samlaget in 2014" -- Verso title page.

When an Angel Goes Through the Stage and Other Essays by Jon Fosse When an Angel Goes Through the Stage and Other Essays, Paperback (December 2015)

"Foreword copyright (c) 2015 David Bandelj" -- Verso title page.

» View all books by Jon Fosse


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Plays Three book by Jon Fosse and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Jon Fosse

Jon Fosse's work includes novels, poetry, essays and books for children. He is one of the most produced playwrights in Europe and his plays have been translated into more than forty languages. Oberon Books publishes Plays One (Someone Is Going to Come, The Name, The Guitar Man, The Child), Plays Three (Mother and Child, Sleep my Baby Sleep, Afternoon, Beautiful, Death Variations), Plays Four (And We'll Never Be Parted, The Son, Visits, Meanwhile the Lights Go Down and Everything Becomes Black), Plays Five (Suzannah, Living Secretly, The Dead Dogs, A Red Butterfly's Wing, Warm, Telemakos, Sleep), Nightsongs, The Girl on the Sofa and I Am The Wind. Fosse was made a Chevalier of the Ordre national du Merite of France in 2007 and received The International Ibsen Award in 2010.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Jon Fosse close
Trilogy by Jon Fosse
Morning and Evening by Jon Fosse
When an Angel Goes Through the Stage and Other Essays by Jon Fosse
Melancholy II by Jon Fosse
Fosse: Plays Six by Jon Fosse
Jon Fosse: Plays 5 by Jon Fosse
I am the Wind by Jon Fosse
Aliss at the Fire by Jon Fosse
Plays One by Jon Fosse
Girl on the Sofa by Jon Fosse
Nightsongs by Jon Fosse
Recent books by May-Brit Akerholt close
Trilogy by May-Brit Akerholt
Fosse: Plays Six by May-Brit Akerholt
Jon Fosse: Plays 5 by May-Brit Akerholt
Plays Three by May-Brit Akerholt
» close