Praxis by Walter Jon Williams
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Walter Jon Williams

The Praxis

Book One of Dread Empire's Fall

By (author) See other recent books by Walter Jon Williams
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $16.34
Your Price: $14.70 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.63! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.74 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Praxis by Walter Jon Williams

Book Description

The empire of the Shaa had lasted 10 millennia. 10,000 years of terror, infinite violence and oppressive, brutal order, legitimised by The Praxis, the harsh code of ethics that they imposed on the races they conquered. But the Shaa began to commit ritual suicide when it became clear that their near immortality came at a price. For each Shaa there would come a time when their vast minds were no longer capable of absorbing new information: their memories were full. Now the Shaa are no more, but the terror and violence are only beginning. The death of the last of the Shaa leaves the galaxy-wide empire leaderless, and into this power vacuum flow the pretenders to the throne: the Naxids, oldest client race of the Shaa, who believe themselves inheritors of the empire; and a frail alliance of the remaining races, including humanity. And so, the story of a dread empire's fall begins...

Buy Praxis book by Walter Jon Williams from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780743428972
ISBN-10: 0743428978
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 111mm x 27mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Earthlight
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date: 2-Jun-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Customers who bought this also bought...

Books By Author Walter Jon Williams

Deep State by Walter Jon Williams Deep State, Paperback (February 2011)

The boundaries between game and reality are breached in this compelling near-future geopolitical thriller by award-winning author, Walter Jon Williams.

Green Leopard Plague and Other Stories by Walter Jon Williams Green Leopard Plague and Other Stories, Hardback (April 2010)

A collection of short fiction including the story "The Green Leopard Plague", as well as "Daddy's World", "Lethe", "The Last Ride of German Freddie", "Millennium Party", "The Tang Dynasty", "Underwater Pyramid", "Incarnation Day", "Send Them Flowers", and "Pinocchio".

» View all books by Walter Jon Williams


UK Kirkus Review » This first volume in the Dread Empire's Fall sequence displays genuine ambition and imagination, with a galaxy-spanning narrative that glitters with invention and energy. Many have suffered under the brutal and corrupt regime of the Shaa. For thousands of years, their unbending code, formulated by the eponymous Praxis, has made a misery of the lives of millions. But a change is in the air as the Shaa grow disillusioned and begin to destroy themselves, despite their immortality. With the death of the regime, an explosion of chaos seems inevitable, and the void left by the passing of the implacable masters will not last long, as many pretenders jostle in a bid for power, including the Naxids, the old associates of the Shaa, who regard themselves as the natural successors. As events rush to a terrifying climax, a small band of individuals begin a fight for humane values in the face of the terrifying new order. This is a classic example of the new breed of space opera, re-inventing old science-fiction tropes: larger-than-life heroics acted out against a massive backdrop, with dauntless protagonists and evil villains engaged in a cataclysmic struggle and galactic power the prize to be won. Walter Jon Williams demonstrates such panache with this material that readers will be keenly awaiting the succeeding volumes in this highly promising sequence. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Praxis book by Walter Jon Williams and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Walter Jon Williams

Walter Jon Williams is American, but was brought up in the UK. He has written SF novels since the mid-80s, and has won or been nominated for most of the major SF honours, including the Hugo and Nebula Awards. His novels include HARDWIRED, ARISTOI and METROPOLITAN.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Walter Jon Williams close
Impersonations by Walter Jon Williams
Fourth Wall by Walter Jon Williams
Deep State by Walter Jon Williams
Green Leopard Plague and Other Stories by Walter Jon Williams
This is Not a Game by Walter Jon Williams
This is Not a Game by Walter Jon Williams
Voice of the Whirlwind by Walter Jon Williams
Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - Destiny's Way by Walter Jon Williams
Deep State by Walter Jon Williams
» close