Rattigan Plays by Terence Rattigan
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Rattigan Plays
By Terence Rattigan

Rattigan Plays

"French without Tears", "The Winslow Boy" "The Browning Version" "Harlequinade" v.1

By (author) See other recent books by Terence Rattigan
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $36.99
Your Price: $33.29 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.70! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.66 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Rattigan Plays by Terence Rattigan

Book Description

"Few dramatists of this century have written with more understanding of the human heart than Terence Rattigan" (Guardian) Constantly revived on stage, radio and television, Rattigan's plays demonstrate their continuing power to hold and move audiences. This volume contains his best work from the thirties and forties, including his first play French Without Tears, about a group of "bright young things" attempting to learn French on the Riviera amid numerous distractions. The second play The Winslow Boy, based on an actual case, is the powerful, deliberately well-made drama of a father's attempts to clear his cadet son's name against the assembled might of Britain's naval establishment - the Admiralty. Completing the volume are two one-act plays Harlequinade, a sustained joke against some well-worn theatrical conventions and The Browning Version which portrays a disliked classics master, Crocker-Harris on the point of retiring after eighteen years of unsuccessful teaching "well up there among the dozen greatest plays written in this country this century." (The Spectator) "Terence Rattigan is the English Tennessee Williams. He maps out the same fatal divorce between the spiritual and the physical, the same drama of lost souls and misdirected lusts, of people stranded with their frustrations, blasted by guilt and reaching out for rescue that they know full well will fail" (Sunday Times)

Buy Rattigan Plays book by Terence Rattigan from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780413490704
ISBN-10: 041349070X
Format: Paperback
(180mm x 120mm x 17mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Methuen Drama
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 7-Jan-1982
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Terence Rattigan

Ross by Terence Rattigan Ross, Paperback (June 2016)

Terence Rattigan's epic and probing drama about the man immortalised as Lawrence of Arabia.

Deep Blue Sea by Terence Rattigan Deep Blue Sea, Paperback (June 2016)

Terence Rattigan's devastating masterpiece, a classic study of forbidden love, suppressed desire and the fear of loneliness - but at heart a deeply moving love story. Published alongside its revival at the National Theatre in 2016.

Harlequinade & All on Her Own by Terence Rattigan Harlequinade & All on Her Own, Paperback (November 2015)

A double bill by Terence Rattigan, featuring two plays of striking contrast that display his astonishing range as a writer.

Love in Idleness by Terence Rattigan Love in Idleness, Paperback (November 2011)

Publication coincides with a swelling tide of revivals to celebrate Rattigan's centenary. This edition also includes "Less Than Kind."

» View all books by Terence Rattigan


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rattigan Plays book by Terence Rattigan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Terence Rattigan close
Ross by Terence Rattigan
Deep Blue Sea by Terence Rattigan
Harlequinade & All on Her Own by Terence Rattigan
Love in Idleness by Terence Rattigan
Deep Blue Sea by Terence Rattigan
Who is Sylvia? and Duologue by Terence Rattigan
First Episode by Terence Rattigan
Rattigan's Nijinsky by Terence Rattigan
Flare Path by Terence Rattigan
Browning Version by Terence Rattigan
In Praise of Love by Terence Rattigan
Cause Celebre by Terence Rattigan
Winslow Boy by Terence Rattigan
Deep Blue Sea by Terence Rattigan
Separate Tables by Terence Rattigan
After the Dance by Terence Rattigan
French without Tears by Terence Rattigan
Winslow Boy by Terence Rattigan
Rattigan Plays by Terence Rattigan
BoomerangBooks.com.au close