Reasoning After Revelation by Steven Kepnes
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Reasoning After Revelation
By Steven Kepnes

Reasoning After Revelation

Dialogues in Postmodern Jewish Philosophy

By (author) See other recent books by Steven Kepnes See other recent books by Peter Ochs See other recent books by Robert Gibbs
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $69.99
Your Price: $62.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $7.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $3.15 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days, Not for Xmas



Reasoning After Revelation by Steven Kepnes

Book Description

Postmodern Jewish thinkers understand their Jewishness differently, but they all share a fidelity to what they call the "Torah" and to communal practices of reading and social action that have their bases in rabbinic interpretations of biblical narrative, law, and belief. Thus, postmodern Jewish thinking is thinking about God, Jews, and the world--with the texts of the Torah--in the company of fellow seekers and believers. It utilizes the tools of philosophy, but without their modern premises. Moreover, this form of Jewish thinking provides resources for philosophically disciplined readings of scripture by Jews, Christians, and Moslems seeking alternatives to the reductive discourses of secular academia, on the one hand, and to antimodern religious fundamentalisms, on the other. Postmodern Jewish Philosophy aims to utilize rabbinic modes of thinking to provide a model for ethical and religious thought in the twenty-first century, one which moves beyond the dichotomy of relativism and imperialism and is simultaneously definite and pluralistic.In Reasoning After Revelation: Dialogues in Postmodern Jewish Philosophy, three preeminent Jewish scholars debate the form and meaning of Postmodern Jewish Philosophy after the failures of the great secular ideologies of modern western civilization. Emulating the methods as well as the premises of Talmudic argumentation, the authors present their responses as dialogues joined by a common love of the rabbinic tradition of commentary and interpretation of the Bible. The composers, Peter Ochs, Robert Gibbs, and Steven Kepnes, contemplate where Judaism has been--and where it is headed: on what basis will modern Jews now reason about the meaning of Jewish existence and the relevance of age-old Biblical traditions to the moral and social crises of the twenty-first century? The dialogues are further enriched by a set of responses from leading Jewish philosophers: Elliot R. Wolfson, Edith Wyschogrod, Almut Sh. Bruckstein, Yudit Kornberg Greenberg, and Susan E. Shapiro.

Buy Reasoning After Revelation book by Steven Kepnes from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780813365657
ISBN-10: 0813365651
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 11mm)
Pages: 165
Imprint: Westview Press Inc
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 8-Dec-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Steven Kepnes

Future of Jewish Theology by Steven Kepnes Future of Jewish Theology, Paperback (December 2012)

This engaging argument for the future of Jewish theology, written by a renowned Jewish scholar, provides a rounded introduction to the faith, its history, and its place in the modern world.

Jewish Liturgical Reasoning by Steven Kepnes Jewish Liturgical Reasoning, Hardback (November 2007)

Jewish Liturgical Reasoning is an articulation of the philosophical, ethical, and theological reasoning of synagogue liturgies. The book uses insights from modern Jewish philosophy together with contemporary hermeneutics, semiotics, and post-liberal theology to develop new terms of discourse and a new sensibility for Jewish philosophy.

Scripture, Reason and the Contemporary Islam-West Encounter by Steven Kepnes Scripture, Reason and the Contemporary Islam-West Encounter, Hardback (September 2007)

As a religious tradition of the 'East', Islam has often been portrayed as 'other' to the Western Traditions of Judaism and Christianity. This work features essays that attempt to bring together both contemporary academic and traditional scholarship on scriptural texts to heal the rift between tradition and the contemporary world.

» View all books by Steven Kepnes

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Reasoning After Revelation book by Steven Kepnes and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Steven Kepnes

Steven Kepnes is associate professor of philosophy and religion and director of Jewish Studies at Colgate University. He was a visiting scholar at the Hebrew University and at the Shalom Hartman Institute for Advanced Jewish Studies from 1993 to 1995. He is author of Interpreting Judaism in a Postmodern Age; The Text as Thou: Martin Buber's Dialogical Hermeneutics and Narrative Theology and coeditor, with David Tracy, of The Challenge of Psychology to Faith. His articles on Jewish thought have appeared in such journals as the Journal of Jewish Studies, Soundings, and the Harvard Theological Review. He is also Judaism editor for Religious Studies Review. Peter Ochs is the Edgar Bronfman Professor of Modern Judaic Studies at the University of Virginia, and co-founder of the Societies for Textual Reasoning, and for Scriptural Reasoning. He is the author of Pierce, Pragmatism, and the Logic of Scripture, and the coauthor of Reviewing the Covenant: Eugene Borowitz and the Postmodern Renewal of Theology. He is the author or editor of a number of works on the relations between rabbinic and American varieties of pragmatism and semiotics, and between Jewish and Christian theologies. Robert Gibbs teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto. He is the author of Correlations in Rosenzweig and Levinas, and most recently of Why Ethics: Signs of Responsibilities. His work addresses Jewish Philosophy in the tradition of Hermann Cohen, Franz Rosenzweig, Martin Buber, and Emmanuel Levinas and engages both contemporary Continental thought and American pragmatism. Tikva Frymer-Kensky is Professor of Hebrew Bible at the Divinity School at the University of Chicago. David Novak holds the J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Chair of Jewish Studies at the University of Toronto. Peter Ochs is the Edgar Bronfman Professor of Modern Judaic Studies at the University of Virginia. David Sandmel is the Jewish Scholar at the Institute for Christian and Jewish Studies in Baltimore. Michael A. Signer is Abrams Professor of Jewish Thought and Culture in the Department of Theology at University of Notre Dame. Steven Kepnes is associate professor of philosophy and religion and director of Jewish Studies at Colgate University. He was a visiting scholar at the Hebrew University and at the Shalom Hartman Institute for Advanced Jewish Studies from 1993 to 1995. He is author of Interpreting Judaism in a Postmodern Age; The Text as Thou: Martin Buber's Dialogical Hermeneutics and Narrative Theology and coeditor, with David Tracy, of The Challenge of Psychology to Faith. His articles on Jewish thought have appeared in such journals as the Journal of Jewish Studies, Soundings, and the Harvard Theological Review. He is also Judaism editor for Religious Studies Review. Peter Ochs is the Edgar Bronfman Professor of Modern Judaic Studies at the University of Virginia, and co-founder of the Societies for Textual Reasoning, and for Scriptural Reasoning. He is the author of Pierce, Pragmatism, and the Logic of Scripture, and the coauthor of Reviewing the Covenant: Eugene Borowitz and the Postmodern Renewal of Theology. He is the author or editor of a number of works on the relations between rabbinic and American varieties of pragmatism and semiotics, and between Jewish and Christian theologies. Robert Gibbs teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto. He is the author of Correlations in Rosenzweig and Levinas, and most recently of Why Ethics: Signs of Responsibilities. His work addresses Jewish Philosophy in the tradition of Hermann Cohen, Franz Rosenzweig, Martin Buber, and Emmanuel Levinas and engages both contemporary Continental thought and American pragmatism.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Steven Kepnes close
Future of Jewish Theology by Steven Kepnes
Future of Jewish Theology by Steven Kepnes
Jewish Liturgical Reasoning by Steven Kepnes
Scripture, Reason and the Contemporary Islam-West Encounter by Steven Kepnes
Interpreting Judaism in a Postmodern Age by Steven Kepnes
»
Recent books by Peter Ochs close
Crisis, Call, and Leadership in the Abrahamic Traditions by Peter Ochs
Jewish-Christian Schism Revisited by Peter Ochs
Peirce, Pragmatism, and the Logic of Scripture by Peter Ochs
Christianity in Jewish Terms by Peter Ochs
Reasoning After Revelation by Peter Ochs
Peirce, Pragmatism, and the Logic of Scripture by Peter Ochs
»
Recent books by Robert Gibbs close
Reasoning After Revelation by Robert Gibbs
Why Ethics? by Robert Gibbs
Correlations in Rosenzweig and Levinas by Robert Gibbs
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close