River Journey by Clarence Jonk
Look inside with Google Book Preview
River Journey
By Clarence Jonk

River Journey

By (author) See other recent books by Clarence Jonk
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $28.74
Your Price: $25.86 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.87! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.29 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

River Journey by Clarence Jonk

Book Description

In 1933, Clarence Jonk, full of youthful naivete and an urge for adventure, decided to build a houseboat from scrap materials and float it the length of the Mississippi River. In the tradition of Huckleberry Finn and Henry David Thoreau, Jonk recounts a first-person tale of high adventure complete with wry and lyrical observations on life, love, and nature that capture the beauty and harshness of existence along the Mississippi River. Hoping to live rent free on a St Paul lake in hard times, Jonk, a carefree college student and would-be poet, cobbled together his own houseboat from empty oil drums, scrap lumber, and two old Model T engines. Then, evicted by the local authorities, Jonk hauled his rudderless craft through city traffic to the Mississippi and boldly set out from Minneapolis bound for New Orleans in the chill month of October and into the teeth of an early winter. Accompanied at times by his sweetheart, friends, and a dog, Jonk fell overboard, was almost capsized by a blizzard, encountered hostile moonshiners, and fled angry farmers while scrounging for provisions on shore. Inexperience, hasty plans, and little cash made the journey a harrowing yet entertaining one as the boat reached La Crosse, Wisconsin, before being locked perilously in shifting ice for the winter. RIVER JOURNEY is as much a portrait of a now-vanished era as it is about a free-spirited man's attempt to find escape from mundane responsibility during the Great Depression. It is a story that begins in delight and ends in wisdom.

Buy River Journey book by Clarence Jonk from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780873514354
ISBN-10: 0873514351
Format: Paperback
(140mm x 215mm x 16mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Minnesota Historical Society Press,U.S.
Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press,U.S.
Publish Date: 1-Apr-2003
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about River Journey book by Clarence Jonk and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Clarence Jonk close
BoomerangBooks.com.au close