Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Roger Penrose: Collected Works
By Roger Penrose

Roger Penrose: Collected Works

1968-1975 Volume 2

By (author) See other recent books by Roger Penrose
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $334.95
Your Price: $301.46 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $33.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $15.07 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose

Book Description

Professor Sir Roger Penrose's work, spanning fifty years of science, with over five thousand pages and more than three hundred papers, has been collected together for the first time and arranged chronologically over six volumes, each with an introduction from the author. Where relevant, individual papers also come with specific introductions or notes. Developing ideas sketched in the first volume, twistor theory is now applied to genuine issues of physics, and there are the beginnings of twistor diagram theory (an analogue of Feynman Diagrams). This collection includes joint papers with Stephen Hawking, and uncovers certain properties of black holes. The idea of cosmic censorship is also first proposed. Along completely different lines, the first methods of aperiodic tiling for the Euclidean plane that come to be known as Penrose tiles are described. This volume also contains Penrose's three prize-winning essays for the Gravity Foundation (two second places with both Ezra Newman and Steven Hawking, and a solo first place for 'The Non-linear graviton').

Buy Roger Penrose: Collected Works book by Roger Penrose from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780199219377
ISBN-10: 0199219370
Format: Hardback
(249mm x 196mm x 51mm)
Pages: 960
Imprint: Oxford University Press
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publish Date: 14-Oct-2010
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Roger Penrose

Emperor's New Mind by Roger Penrose Emperor's New Mind, Paperback (April 2016)

In his bestselling work of popular science, Sir Roger Penrose takes us on a fascinating tour through the basic principles of physics, cosmology, mathematics, and philosophy to show that human thinking can never be emulated by a machine.

Crystal Cave by Roger Penrose Crystal Cave, Paperback (October 2015)

This incredible 96-page collection contains every single one of the world famous Altair Design patterns and brings together new designs by Roger Burrows, Prof Roger Penrose, Haifa Khawaja and John Martineau. What do you see? Colour it in!

» View all books by Roger Penrose


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Roger Penrose: Collected Works book by Roger Penrose and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Roger Penrose

Sir Roger Penrose is renowned for his significant contributions to mathematical physics, in particular general relativity and cosmology. Currently Emeritus Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford and Emeritus Fellow of Wadham College, he earned his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Cambridge in 1957, before being appointed Research Fellow at St. John's College, Cambridge. He then spent time at Princeton and Syracuse University before returning to the UK as a research associate at King's College, London, which was quickly followed by a further stint in the U.S. at the University of Texas at Austin. He then returned to the UK to Birkbeck College, London, where he eventually became Professor of Applied Mathematics. In 1973, he was appointed Rouse Ball Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford, earning the status Emeritus Professor in 1998. In the same year, he was also appointed Gresham Professor of Geometry at Gresham College, London. Penrose has been awarded numerous honors for his scientific contributions: in 1975 with Stephen Hawking he was awarded the Eddington Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, and in 1988 Penrose and Hawking were awarded the Wolf Prize in Physics for their development of the theory of general relativity. In 1985, Penrose received the Royal Society's Royal Medal and in 1989 he was honored with the Dirac Medal and Prize of the British Institute of Physics. In 1990, he received the Albert Einstein Medal, followed by the Naylor Prize of the London Mathematical Society in 1991, and the DeMorgan Medal for his wide and original contributions to mathematical physics in 2004. A Fellow of the Royal Society of London since 1972, Penrose was elected Foreign Associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 1998 and in 1994 he was knighted for services to science.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Roger Penrose close
Fearful Symmetry by Roger Penrose
Emperor's New Mind by Roger Penrose
Nature of Space and Time by Roger Penrose
Crystal Cave by Roger Penrose
Altair Design - Penrose Tilings by Roger Penrose
What is Life? by Roger Penrose
Mr Tompkins in Paperback by Roger Penrose
On Space and Time by Roger Penrose
Cycles of Time by Roger Penrose
Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose
Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose
Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose
Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose
Roger Penrose: Collected Works by Roger Penrose
Fashion, Faith, and Fantasy in the New Physics of the Universe by Roger Penrose
Road to Reality by Roger Penrose
Einstein's Miraculous Year by Roger Penrose
Large, the Small and the Human Mind by Roger Penrose
Shadows of the Mind by Roger Penrose
Spinors and Ssace-Time by Roger Penrose
» close