Rosendorf Quartet by Nathan Shaham
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Rosendorf Quartet
By Nathan Shaham

The Rosendorf Quartet

A Novel

By (author) See other recent books by Nathan Shaham
Translated by Dalya Bilu See other recent books by Dalya Bilu
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $28.55
Your Price: $25.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.85! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.28 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Rosendorf Quartet by Nathan Shaham

Book Description

Four German Jews , all refugees from Nazi Germany, and all first-rate musicians, arrive in Palestine in the 1930s. There they join a symphony orchestra, which although made up of Europeans serves as a propaganda vehicle for the Zionist state-in-the-making. Unable to express themselves within this melting-pot orchestra, they join together to form The Rosendorf Quartet. In this compelling and provocative novel, awarded Israel's prestigious Bialik Prize for Literature, Nathan Shaham examines the plight of these refugees, who must adjust to the old-new land--a place fraught with political struggle and impending violence. Kurt Rosendorf, the quartet's founder and first violin, would like to believe that his true homeland is music. Forced to leave his Christian wife and daughter in Berlin, he cannot adjust to life in Palestine and tries to live "outside history and geography." Konrad Friedman, second violin, is a young Zionist who constantly battles the urge to renounce the European, cultured life of the musician and dedicate himself to the Jewish cause. Bernard Litovsky, the cellist, is tired of wandering and longs for firm ground and a sense of home. The fourth in the quartet is the stunning Eva Staubenfeld, whose beauty and sexual liberation baffle and mesmerize her colleagues. Relieved to be far from the abuses of her past, she is furious that the accident of being born Jewish has disrupted her life. Uniting the four is Egon Loewenthal, a brilliant and underrated German author who has survived Dachau but cannot forsake the language of his persecutors. He decides that his next novel, written in German, will be about the quartet. The Rosendorf Quartet is not only a deft portrait of the complexities and contradictions that have gone to make up the state of Israel; it is also a stunning tribute to the curative powers of music, in whose realm dissonance, politics, and personal anguish dissolve into art, transcending human conflict and national boundaries

Buy Rosendorf Quartet book by Nathan Shaham from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780802133168
ISBN-10: 0802133169
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 21mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publisher: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publish Date: 10-Feb-1994
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rosendorf Quartet book by Nathan Shaham and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Nathan Shaham close
Recent books by Dalya Bilu close
Lily la Tigresse by Dalya Bilu
Viennese Romance by Dalya Bilu
Kin by Dalya Bilu
Heatwave and Crazy Birds by Dalya Bilu
Dolly City by Dalya Bilu
Benhazar by Dalya Bilu
Housebroken by Dalya Bilu
Weeping Susannah by Dalya Bilu
Four Mothers by Dalya Bilu
Married Life by Dalya Bilu
Badenheim, 1939 by Dalya Bilu
Rosendorf Quartet by Dalya Bilu
Saturday Morning Murder by Dalya Bilu
» close