Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Saxon Shore
By Jack Whyte

The Saxon Shore

New edition

By (author) See other recent books by Jack Whyte
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $12.99
Your Price: $11.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.58 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte

Book Description

Merlyn Britannicus and Uther Pendragon - The Silver Bear and The Red Dragon - are the leaders of the Colony, lifeblood to the community from which will come the fabled Camulod. They are the descendants of those brave Romans who forged a new way of life for the Celt and Roman peoples when the Roman legions departed Britain. They have sworn to protect the Colony's safety and have pledged their lives to preserve the past and to fulfill a dream. But their tranquillity is in ruins, Uther lies dead following treachery... and all that is left of the dream is the babe Arthur. Heir to the Colony of Camulod, born with Roman heritage, as well as the royal blood of the Hibernians and the Celts, Arthur is the living incarnation of the sacred dream of his ancestors: independent survival in Britain amidst the ruins of the Roman Empire. When Arthur is adopted by his cousin, Caius Merlyn Britannicus, an enormous responsibility is placed upon Merlyn's shoulders. Now he must prepare young Arthur to unify the clans of Britain and guard the mighty sword Excalibur, crafted by his great uncle Publius Varrus. Above all, Merlyn must see that Arthur survives to achieve his ancestors' dreams - in spite of the deadly threats rumbling from the Saxon Shore.

Buy Saxon Shore book by Jack Whyte from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780812544169
ISBN-10: 0812544161
Format: Paperback
(171mm x 106mm x 31mm)
Pages: 716
Imprint: St Martin's Press
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Publish Date: 22-Apr-1999
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Jack Whyte

Guardian by Jack Whyte Guardian, Paperback / softback (February 2017)

Originally published: Toronto: Viking/Penguin Canada Books, c2014.

Uprising by Jack Whyte Uprising, Paperback (July 2015)

The hugely ambitious Bravehearts Chronicles reaches its climax with the tale of how Robert Bruce and William Wallace fought off the mighty English army and changed Scotland's history through blood, brains and bravery.

Resistance by Jack Whyte Resistance, Paperback (July 2014)

As modern Scotland chooses its future, Jack Whyte presents his epic adventure about its founding hero, Robert the Bruce, and the battle for the heart of his homeland.

» View all books by Jack Whyte


US Kirkus Review » Fourth volume in the Camulod Chronicles, Scots-born Whyte's reinvention of the Arthurian saga, begun with The Skystone (1996) and the discovery of a new metal with which to forge Excalibur, The Singing Sword(1996, not reviewed) and - 200 years later - The Eagle's Brood (1997), in which the Roman occupation of fifth-century Britain hears the first chords of its death knell. Now, the Colony that will become the fabled Camulod is ruled by Merlyn Britannicus and Uther Pendragon. When Uther (Arthur's father) dies, cousin Merlyn cares for the babe and raises him to unify Britain and guard Excalibur. Bernard Cornwell's more florid, less gritty trilogy of Arthur ends with Excalibur (see above), while Whyte's doorstoppers are historically more dense and action-crammed than marvelous, and - with Arthur still a child after four long volumes - already dwarf Le Morte d'Arthur, will soon loom over Gibbon's Decline and Fall, and, with the Saxon chronicles marching on logically into Ivanhoe and The Waverley Novels, may simply go on forever. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Saxon Shore book by Jack Whyte and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Jack Whyte

Jack Whyte is a Scots-born, award-winning Canadian author whose poem, The Faceless One, was featured at the 1991 New York Film Festival. The Camulod Chronicles is his greatest work, a stunning retelling of one of our greatest legends: the making of King Arthur's Britain. He lives in British Columbia, Canada.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Jack Whyte close
Guardian by Jack Whyte
Guardian by Jack Whyte
Uprising by Jack Whyte
Resistance by Jack Whyte
Robert the Bruce by Jack Whyte
War of the Celts by Jack Whyte
Round Table by Jack Whyte
Pendragon by Jack Whyte
Merlyn by Jack Whyte
Last Stand by Jack Whyte
Lancelot by Jack Whyte
Sorcerer by Jack Whyte
Excalibur by Jack Whyte
Boy King by Jack Whyte
Forest Laird by Jack Whyte
Rebel by Jack Whyte
Order in Chaos by Jack Whyte
Standard of Honor by Jack Whyte
Standard of Honour by Jack Whyte
Knights of the Black and White Book One by Jack Whyte
» close