Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India by David Arnold
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India
By David Arnold

Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India

By (author) See other recent books by David Arnold
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $160.00
Your Price: $144.00 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $16.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $7.20 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India by David Arnold

Book Description

Interest in the science, technology and medicine of India under British rule has grown in recent years and has played an ever-increasing part in the reinterpretation of modern South Asian history. Spanning the period from the establishment of East India Company rule through to Independence, David Arnold's wide-ranging and analytical survey demonstrates the importance of examining the role of science, technology and medicine in conjunction with the development of the British engagement in India and in the formation of Indian responses to western intervention. One of the first works to analyse the colonial era as a whole from the perspective of science, the book investigates the relationship between Indian and western science, the nature of science, technology and medicine under the Company, the creation of state-scientific services, 'imperial science' and the rise of an Indian scientific community, the impact of scientific and medical research and the dilemmas of nationalist science.

Buy Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India book by David Arnold from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521563192
ISBN-10: 0521563194
Format: Hardback
(237mm x 161mm x 17mm)
Pages: 248
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 20-Apr-2000
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author David Arnold

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold Kids of Appetite, Paperback (September 2016)

A powerful and funny young adult novel that mediates on loss, love and disability for fans of Jennifer Niven, Rainbow Rowell and Louise O'Neill.

Everyday Technology by David Arnold Everyday Technology, Paperback (March 2015)

Showcases how small machines and consumer goods that originated in Europe and North America became objects of everyday use in India in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The author examines how such technologies became integral to fresh ways of thinking about class, race, and gender, as well as about the politics of colonial rule.

» View all books by David Arnold

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India book by David Arnold and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by David Arnold close
Kids of Appetite by David Arnold
Kids of Appetite by David Arnold
Mosquitoland by David Arnold
Mosquitoland by David Arnold
Mosquitoland by David Arnold
Everyday Technology by David Arnold
Mosquitoland by David Arnold
Hursey in Conflict by David Arnold
Love and War by David Arnold
History of India by David Arnold
Why Do Bad Things Happen to Good People? by David Arnold
Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India by David Arnold
Age of Discovery, 1400-1600 by David Arnold
Age of Discovery, 1400-1600 by David Arnold
Discipleship Manual by David Arnold
Problem of Nature by David Arnold
Institutions and Ideologies by David Arnold
Colonizing the Body by David Arnold
Handbook of Brand Management by David Arnold
Famine and the Crisis of Social Order by David Arnold
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close