Second Sentence by Fatos Lubonja
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Second Sentence
By Fatos Lubonja

Second Sentence

Inside the Albanian Gulag

By (author) See other recent books by Fatos Lubonja
Translated by John Hodgson See other recent books by John Hodgson
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $54.95
Your Price: $49.46 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $5.49! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.47 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Second Sentence by Fatos Lubonja

Book Description

Prison camps in Communist Albania were as brutal and claustrophobic as Stalin's gulags, with the additional and unique horror that Albanian prisoners could be charged and re-sentenced while already in prison. In this raw and moving memoir, the prize-winning writer Fatos Lubonja brilliantly evokes life for prisoners of the state as they struggled to cope with the physical and psychological deprivations of imprisonment."Second Sentence" opens in 1978 with a vivid description of the author's experiences as a forced labourer in a copper mine in Northern Albania. In the tense camp atmosphere Lubonja discovers that two of his co-prisoners have written a letter to the Party criticizing 'the foremost leader', Enver Hoxha. Shortly afterward they are spirited away under mysterious circumstances. Lubonja does not make the connection until he is himself re-arrested in the camp with seven others and sent to stand trial as part of an alleged counter-revolutionary organization.With heart-breaking honesty, Lubonja describes the long months of interrogation and solitary confinement as he awaits his second sentence. This is an extraordinary portrait of the impenetrable world of Communist Albania and an unforgettable memoir of friendship and betrayal.

Buy Second Sentence book by Fatos Lubonja from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781845119249
ISBN-10: 184511924X
Format: Hardback
(216mm x 134mm x 25mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: I.B.Tauris
Publisher: I.B.Tauris & Co Ltd
Publish Date: 30-Apr-2009
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Fatos Lubonja

False Apocalypse by Fatos Lubonja False Apocalypse, Paperback (September 2014)

A fascinating dissection of the political and social events which rapidly bought one of the world's strictest Stalinist regime to rough capitalism and financial collapse.

» View all books by Fatos Lubonja


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Second Sentence book by Fatos Lubonja and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Fatos Lubonja

Fatos Lubonja is an Albanian writer who spent a total of 17 years in prisons and forced labour camps during Enver Hoxha's regime. He is the author of a number of books which have been translated into Italian, German, English and Polish. Among other prizes he received the Alberto Moravia Prize for International Literature in 2002 and the Herder Prize for Literature in 2004. John Hodgson studied English at Cambridge and Newcastle and has taught at universities in the Republic of Kosovo and Albania. His translation of Ismail Kadare's The Three-Arched Bridge was published by the Harvill Press.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Fatos Lubonja close
False Apocalypse by Fatos Lubonja
Recent books by John Hodgson close
Girl in Exile by John Hodgson
Traitor's Niche by John Hodgson
Girl in Exile by John Hodgson
False Apocalypse by John Hodgson
Fall of the Stone City by John Hodgson
Three-Arched Bridge by John Hodgson
Accident by John Hodgson
Accident by John Hodgson
Accident by John Hodgson
Adelaide by John Hodgson
Second Sentence by John Hodgson
New Zealand Pasture and Crop Science by John Hodgson
Mastering Movement by John Hodgson
Three Arched Bridge by John Hodgson
» close