Secret Between Us by Barbara Delinsky
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Secret Between Us
By Barbara Delinsky

The Secret Between Us

By (author) See other recent books by Barbara Delinsky
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $13.99
Your Price: $12.59 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.40! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.63 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Secret Between Us by Barbara Delinsky

Book Description

One lie sends a family into turmoil in a heart-rending new novel from a worldwide bestselling author, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult When Deborah Monroe's car hits and kills a man on a deserted road on a dark and rainy night, questions of who is to blame muddy the already complicated life of a woman who is newly divorced and struggling with emotions that are rampant in a house with two vulnerable children. Deborah's daughter, 16-year old, Grace, was behind the wheel but, desperate to protect her daughter, Deborah covers for her and takes responsibility for the death of the man. But, when it seems that the victim may or may not have been suicidal, issues of guilt and responsibility, truth and honesty, are all brought into sharp focus.

Buy Secret Between Us book by Barbara Delinsky from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780007248094
ISBN-10: 0007248091
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 23mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Harper
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 1-Jul-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Barbara Delinsky

Through My Eyes by Barbara Delinsky Through My Eyes, Hardback (July 2015)

When artist Jill Moncrieff's childhood friend Cooper is falsely accused of a crime, she has to return to the stifling world of wealth and privilege she escaped years earlier. Hiring hotshot attorney Peter Hathaway is the best thing she can do for Cooper - but the worst thing for her peace of mind. For Peter is unforgivably tempting ...

Cardinal Rules by Barbara Delinsky Cardinal Rules, Hardback (October 2014)

Rule one is never get involved. Corinne has always lived by this. She is all business, all the time. Rule two is always resist temptation. But maverick businessman Corey Haraden conducts his lovelife the same way he does business - with enthusiasm. Rule three - rules are meant to be broken ...

Summer I Dared by Barbara Delinsky Summer I Dared, Paperback / softback (July 2014)

Reprint. Originally published: New York: Scribner, 2004.

» View all books by Barbara Delinsky


US Kirkus Review » Delinsky (More Than Friends, 2006, etc.) offers a polished drama featuring an otherwise responsible mother lying to police to protect her daughter.When Deborah picks up teenage daughter Grace from a study group, she lets the girl drive home. Big mistake. A pouring rain, a dimly lit road, a couple of clandestine beers in Grace and a mild argument between the two contribute to hitting the runner that suddenly appears before them. And not just anyone; when they find his body by the road, Grace recognizes her history teacher Calvin McKenna. A doctor, Deborah stabilizes the man, who doesn't seem critically hurt, calls an ambulance and has Grace run home to watch her little brother Dylan. When the police later question Deborah, they assume she was driving, and she doesn't correct them. McKenna dies the next day, under mysterious circumstances, making the accident a potential vehicular homicide. Now Deborah's uncalculated lie of omission has more serious implications, particularly in Grace's life: She's guilt-ridden, terrified the truth will come out and withdrawing from school and friends. Deborah begins to wonder if McKenna is the real victim. After all, why was he running so far from home? Why didn't he alert hospital staff about the medication he was taking? The accident investigation pushes the story forward, and Delinsky does a fine job creating sympathetic characters with personal problems. Deborah, for one, shares a medical practice with her imposing father, who may be turning into an alcoholic. Younger sister Jill owns a successful bakery and is unwed and pregnant. Ex-husband Greg manages to infuriate Deborah years after their divorce. And to top it off, Deborah's best friend's husband - now her lawyer in the matter of the accident - has pledged to her his undying love. Making everything just a bit more complicated is the mutual attraction between Deborah and Tom McKenna, the dead man's brother. By novel's end the bizarre life and death of Calvin McKenna is explained, and much domestic turmoil is soothed, with happier days in sight.Well-crafted and satisfying. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Secret Between Us book by Barbara Delinsky and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Barbara Delinsky

Barbara Delinsky grew up in suburban Boston, US. A master of emotional intensity, she touches the minds and hearts of her readers with intricately woven stories of domestic drama and relationships. Her books regularly appear on the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, and USA Today Bestseller Lists.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Barbara Delinsky close
Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky
Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky
Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky
Through My Eyes by Barbara Delinsky
Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky
Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky
Cardinal Rules by Barbara Delinsky
Summer I Dared by Barbara Delinsky
Sweet Salt Air by Barbara Delinsky
Accidental Woman by Barbara Delinsky
Chances are by Barbara Delinsky
Sweet Salt Air by Barbara Delinsky
Sweet Salt Air by Barbara Delinsky
Twelve Across by Barbara Delinsky
Threats and Promises by Barbara Delinsky
Escape by Barbara Delinsky
Suddenly by Barbara Delinsky
Uplift by Barbara Delinsky
Not My Daughter by Barbara Delinsky
Together Alone by Barbara Delinsky
» close