Sensibility and English Song by Stephen Banfield
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Sensibility and English Song
By Stephen Banfield

Sensibility and English Song

Critical Studies of the Early Twentieth Century v. 1 & 2 in 1v

By (author) See other recent books by Stephen Banfield
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $110.00
Your Price: $99.00 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $11.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $4.95 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Sensibility and English Song by Stephen Banfield

Book Description

This highly acclaimed study of English song is the first detailed account of an unusually fruitful interrelationship between English music and English poetry. The period covered is known as the English Musical Renaissance and runs from the last years of the nineteenth century to the Second World War. Stephen Banfield traces the late flowering of Romantic impulses in solo song during these years, surveying it from critical, analytical and historical angles. He plots the growth of the English stylistic sensibility in song in the decades leading up to the First World War, discusses in detail the plateau it reached between the wars (particularly in the 1920s), and shows how and why it declined as other musical concerns took the field. Poets whose verse was set to music most frequently, including Housman, Hardy, de la Mare and Yeats, are treated at length, as are pre-eminent song composers such as Butterworth, Finzi, Gurney, Ireland, Quilter, Somervell, Stanford, Vaughan Williams and Warlock. In all, more than fifty composers are discussed, and numerous individual songs. In the final section of the book, besides providing an extensive bibliography, Dr Banfield catalogues over 5,000 songs, giving dates of composition and publication and much other detail, listed by composer. This comprehensive survey will prove an invaluable reference guide to all students of the subject.

Buy Sensibility and English Song book by Stephen Banfield from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521379441
ISBN-10: 052137944X
Format: Paperback
(246mm x 189mm x 33mm)
Pages: 640
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 27-Jan-1989
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Stephen Banfield

Music and the Wesleys by Stephen Banfield Music and the Wesleys, Paperback (October 2010)

The music, religion, and relationships of the exceptional Wesley family

Gerald Finzi by Stephen Banfield Gerald Finzi, Paperback (January 2009)

The music of Gerald Finzi, whose popularity has enjoyed a great resurgence, is rooted in the tradition of Elgar, Parry, Vaughan Williams and those composers for whom song writing was a principal means of expression. This biography reveals Finzi as a more complex and engaged figure than he is often given credit for.

» View all books by Stephen Banfield

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sensibility and English Song book by Stephen Banfield and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Stephen Banfield close
Jerome Kern by Stephen Banfield
Music and the Wesleys by Stephen Banfield
Gerald Finzi by Stephen Banfield
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close