Serial Composition and Atonality by George Perle
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Serial Composition and Atonality
By George Perle

Serial Composition and Atonality

An Introduction to the Music of Schoenberg, Berg, and Webern 6th Revised edition

By (author) See other recent books by George Perle
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $118.49
Your Price: $106.64 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $11.85! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $5.33 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Serial Composition and Atonality by George Perle

Book Description

Widely recognized as the definitive work in its field ever since its original publication in 1962, Serial Composition and Atonality remains an unsurpassed introduction to the technical features of what is probably the most revolutionary body of work since the beginnings of polyphony. In the analysis of specific compositions there is first and last of all a concern with the musical surface--an attempt to trace connections and distinctions there before offering any deeper-level constructions, and to offer none where their effects are not obvious on more immediate levels of musical experience. In this sixth edition of the book, George Perle employs the new and more consistent terminology for the identification of transpositional levels of twelve-tone sets that he first proposed in Twelve-Tone Tonality (1977).

Buy Serial Composition and Atonality book by George Perle from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520074309
ISBN-10: 0520074300
Format: Hardback
(260mm x 178mm x 19mm)
Pages: 178
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 11-Apr-1991
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author George Perle

Listening Composer by George Perle Listening Composer, Paperback (December 1996)

Taking us into a composer's workshop, this title reevaluates what we call 'twentieth-century music' - a term used to refer to modern or contemporary music that represents a radical break from the tonal tradition, or 'common practice', of the preceding three centuries.

Operas of Alban Berg by George Perle Operas of Alban Berg, Paperback (October 1989)

Focuses on the two operas of Alban Berg. If you have ever had any questions about Berg's opera Wozzeck, this book answers them for you. Each paragraph, each quoted music example, each analysis moves the argument forward in a clear incisive manner.

» View all books by George Perle


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Serial Composition and Atonality book by George Perle and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - George Perle

George Perle, one of this country's most respected composers, theorists, and critics, is the winner of the Pulitzer Prize in music and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship. His writings on twentieth-century music include The Listening Composer (1990), The Operas of Alban Berg (1980, 1984), and Twelve-Tone Tonality (1977), all available from the University of California Press.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by George Perle close
Listening Composer by George Perle
Operas of Alban Berg by George Perle
Operas of Alban Berg by George Perle
» close