Serpent and the Scorpion by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Serpent and the Scorpion
By Clare Langley-Hawthorne

The Serpent and the Scorpion

An Ursula Marlow Mystery

By (author) See other recent books by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
Format: Paperback / softback

Normal Price: $30.76
Your Price: $27.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.08! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.38 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Serpent and the Scorpion by Clare Langley-Hawthorne

Book Description

A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiress It's the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father's textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya?the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian financier. Then when a young woman dies in a fire in one of Ursula's factories just days later, she returns to investigate and discovers the woman was already dead before the fire started. Driven by her need for justice, the headstrong Ursula is determined to unravel the possible connection between the two deaths, the return of her Bolshevik ex-lover, and disturbing events in the Middle East. "The Serpent and the Scorpion" is a tale of romance, betrayal, and murder that will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Peters, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Jacqueline Winspear.

Buy Serpent and the Scorpion book by Clare Langley-Hawthorne from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780143113393
ISBN-10: 0143113399
Format: Paperback / softback
(196mm x 130mm x 13mm)
Pages: 289
Imprint: Penguin Books
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publish Date: 30-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Clare Langley-Hawthorne

Consequences of Sin by Clare Langley-Hawthorne Consequences of Sin, Paperback / softback (February 2008)

Fast paced and richly detailed, "Consequences of Sin" is the stunning first novel in a new Edwardian mystery series featuring the young heiress Ursula Marlow.

» View all books by Clare Langley-Hawthorne


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Serpent and the Scorpion book by Clare Langley-Hawthorne and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Clare Langley-Hawthorne

Born in Canada and raised in England and Australia, Clare Langley-Hawthorne was a practicing attorney in Melbourne until emigrating to the United States in 1995. Once here, she obtained her MA and LLM and worked as an economist for the health care industry before beginning her career as a writer. She lives in the San Francisco bay area with her Australian husband, her twin sons, and her collie.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Clare Langley-Hawthorne close
Unlikely Traitors by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
Consequences of Sin by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
» close