Shangri-La by Michael Buckley
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Shangri-La
By Michael Buckley

Shangri-La

A Practical Guide to the Himalayan Dream

By (author) See other recent books by Michael Buckley
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $37.99
Your Price: $34.19 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.71 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Shangri-La by Michael Buckley

Book Description

Shangri-La is one of the most evocative myths of our time -so powerful that it has entered the dictionary as a synonym for paradise.As myths go, it is a young one: Shangri-La made its debut with the 1933 publication of British author James Hilton's novel, Lost Horizon. No sooner was Shangri-La created by Hilton than a host of places staked claims to being the real location that inspired the book. This guide to the mythical site of Shangri-La is rooted in the glorious reality of the Himalaya, encompassing parts of southwest China, Tibet, Bhutan, Nepal, Sikkim and Ladakh. It forms a concise guide to the most remote areas of the region, with a focus on major mountain peaks, and some well-chosen treks in each area. Practical information and maps will ensure that visitors can make the most of their trip to this other-worldly destination, while armchair readers can browse and dream...

Buy Shangri-La book by Michael Buckley from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781841622040
ISBN-10: 1841622044
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 135mm x 12mm)
Pages: 200
Imprint: Bradt Travel Guides
Publisher: Bradt Travel Guides
Publish Date: 30-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author Michael Buckley

Raging Sea by Michael Buckley Raging Sea, Paperback / softback (April 2017)

For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, Raging Sea isthe second volume of this much-anticipated, genre-breaking trilogy for teensfromNew York Timesbestselling author Michael Buckley."

Undertow by Michael Buckley Undertow, Hardback (June 2015)

Sixteen-year-old Lyric Walker's life is forever changed when she witnesses the arrival of 30,000 Alpha, a five-nation race of ocean-dwelling warriors, on her beach in Coney Island. The world's initial wonder over the Alpha quickly turns ugly and Lyric's small town transforms into a military zone with humans on one side and Alpha on the other.

Meltdown in Tibet by Michael Buckley Meltdown in Tibet, Hardback (November 2014)

An expert on Tibet chronicles the ruthless Chinese push to strip this fragile environment of its natural resources, endangering the water supply of much of Asia

» View all books by Michael Buckley

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Shangri-La book by Michael Buckley and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Michael Buckley

Michael Buckley has travelled widely in Tibet, China, central Asia and the Himalaya, visiting many Tibetan enclaves. He is author of Eccentric Explorers, a book about the exploits of ten fearless adventurers to the Tibetan plateau, and of a travel narrative, Travels in the Tibetan World. For Bradt, he has also authored Shangri-La: A Travel Guide to the Himalayan Dream - a concept guidebook that covers contenders for the Shangri-La crown across the Himalayan range. In the course of numerous journeys to Tibet, Buckley has hitchhiked overland from Chengdu to Lhasa, trekked around Mount Kailash and mountain-biked from Lhasa to Kathmandu.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Michael Buckley close
Raging Sea by Michael Buckley
Raging Sea by Michael Buckley
Capital Tax Acts by Michael Buckley
Undertow by Michael Buckley
Meltdown in Tibet by Michael Buckley
Attack of the Bullies by Michael Buckley
Capital Tax Acts 2014 by Michael Buckley
NERDS by Michael Buckley
NERDS by Michael Buckley
Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley
Capital Tax Acts by Michael Buckley
Nerds by Michael Buckley
Cheerleaders of Doom by Michael Buckley
Kel Gilligan's Daredevil Stunt Show by Michael Buckley
NERDS by Michael Buckley
Nerds by Michael Buckley
Voices of the Chesapeake Bay by Michael Buckley
Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley
Tibet by Michael Buckley
Nerds by Michael Buckley
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close