Shark Island by Joan Druett
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Shark Island
By Joan Druett

Shark Island

A Mystery New edition

By (author) See other recent books by Joan Druett
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $38.04
Your Price: $34.24 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.71 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Shark Island by Joan Druett

Book Description

Wiki Coffin, linguist aboard the U.S. Exploring Expedition, the famous voyage meant to put America at the fore-front of 19th century scientific discovery, brings many skills to his job. Whether he's translating native languages, assisting his good friend Captain George Rochester as unofficial first mate, or upholding the rule of law as deputy to the sheriff of the port of Virginia, Wiki is never far from the action aboard the seven ships that make up the expedition. But, when they encounter a wrecked sealing ship and its desperate crew on the shoals of remote, uninhabited Shark Island, Wiki has little idea just how many of his skills are about to be put to the test. As soon as they board the wreck, a dead body turns up with a dagger firmly inserted between its shoulder blades. And it's not just any dead body: the victim of the brutal murder is none other than the enigmatic captain of the doomed voyage. What's more, Wiki's colleague and nemesis Lieutenant Forsythe is suspected of the crime. Knowing full well that Forsythe is capable of such violence, Wiki nonetheless believes him innocent and is duty-bound to prove it for the good of the expedition. Was the murder a case of mutinous sealers taking the law into their own hands? Did the secrets of several mysterious long-ago voyages finally come back to haunt a dishonest and dishonorable captain? Or is Shark Island home to something more sinister than a few lonely goats? Something isn't quite right about the crew of the wrecked ship, and Wiki will stop at nothing to find out just what it is that they're hiding, and, in the process, unmask a vicious killer.

Buy Shark Island book by Joan Druett from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780312361471
ISBN-10: 0312361475
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 20mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Minotaur Books,US
Publisher: Minotaur Books,US
Publish Date: 9-Oct-2006
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Joan Druett

Notorious Captain Hayes by Joan Druett Notorious Captain Hayes, Paperback (October 2016)

The incredible true story of William 'Bully' Hayes, the so-called 'Pirate of the Pacific': a story that separates the myth from the man. Famous throughout the Pacific, from the US to Australia and all...

Run Afoul by Joan Druett Run Afoul, Paperback (January 2008)

As the 1865 US Exploring Expedition heads into the port of Rio de Janeiro, one of the vessels collides with a Salem trading ship. Wiki Coffin, resident linguist of the famous convoy, is astonished to discover that the commander of the trader is none other than his father, Captain William Coffin.

» View all books by Joan Druett


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Shark Island book by Joan Druett and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Joan Druett

In addition to the Wiki Coffin mysteries, JOAN DRUETT, an award-winning nautical nonfiction writer, is also the author of In the Wake of Madness: The Murderous Voyage of the Whaleship Sharon. She lives in New Zealand.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Joan Druett close
Notorious Captain Hayes by Joan Druett
Notorious Captain Hayes: the Remarkable True Story of the Pirate Ofthe Pacific by Joan Druett
Tupaia by Joan Druett
Run Afoul by Joan Druett
Deadly Shoals by Joan Druett
Island of the Lost by Joan Druett
Watery Grave by Joan Druett
Shark Island by Joan Druett
Island of the Lost by Joan Druett
Watery Grave by Joan Druett
In the Wake of Madness by Joan Druett
Rough Medicine by Joan Druett
Hen Frigates by Joan Druett
Hen Frigates by Joan Druett
She Captains by Joan Druett
» close