Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Sixth Lamentation
By William Brodrick

The Sixth Lamentation

By (author) See other recent books by William Brodrick
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $35.00
Your Price: $31.50 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.58 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick

Book Description

A man arrives at Larkwood Monastery claiming sanctuary. Edward Schwermann is accused of Nazi war crimes: the chances are he's stained with blood, but politics demand that Larkwood shelter him. And Schwermann has intimated that the Church offered him sanctuary once before, during the war. It is this potentially embarrassing claim which brings Father Anselm onto centre stage. Once a lawyer, Anselm is sanctioned to make discreet enquiries in Rome, but as he edges towards the truth behind Schwermann's crimes, his renewed contact with the outside world threatens to overwhelm his fragile spiritual identity. For Agnes Embleton, seeing Schwermann's face on the television has brought back a flood of memories: of Paris, of The Round Table, a group of idealistic students who tried to save thousands of Jewish children from deportation, of the Frenchman who betrayed them and of Schwermann, the German officer who sent the children to their deaths. But what Agnes doesn't know and Anselm discovers is the personal investment Schwermann had in The Round Table, the silent bargains made by its members and the true extent of Schwermann's final treachery.

Buy Sixth Lamentation book by William Brodrick from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780316861625
ISBN-10: 0316861626
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 153mm x mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Little, Brown & Company
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Publish Date: 27-Feb-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author William Brodrick

Silent Ones by William Brodrick Silent Ones, Paperback (August 2016)

The latest in CWA Gold dagger winner William Brodrick's much loved Father Anselm series - and Anselm faces the most difficult and troubling case of his life.

Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick Discourtesy of Death, Hardback (July 2016)

An ingenious, gripping thriller for readers of P.D. James and William Boyd

Day of the Lie by William Brodrick Day of the Lie, Paperback (February 2013)

The haunting, utterly magnificent new novel from the bestselling author of The Sixth Lamentation (a Richard & Judy selection) and A Whispered Name (winner of the CWA Gold Dagger).

Whispered Name by William Brodrick Whispered Name, Paperback (July 2009)

A hugely moving and intelligent novel from the bestselling author of The Sixth Lamentation and The Gardens of the Dead, A Whispered Name reaches into the mysteries of one man's past and casts light on the long shadows war leaves behind.

» View all books by William Brodrick

Reviews

UK Kirkus Review » This intelligent debut from William Brodrick is inspired by his own experience first as a monk and then a barrister, and also from his mother's journals, wartime experiences and illness. The plot line is not easily distilled. In essence, this is the story of a war criminal being brought to retribution, and a group he hunted down and tried to destroy - a ring smuggling Jewish children out of wartime Paris - discovering the truth about him, themselves and each other. However a summary cannot do justice to the intricacies of this novel: an incredible number of twists take the reader to unexpected conclusions. An interesting cast of characters is woven together in a tale that ranges from wartime Paris to modern-day London and Rome, from the peace of a Suffolk priory to the high politics of the Vatican, from the Resistance to the law courts. The characters are finely drawn: particularly those of the heroine Agnes and Father Anselm, which are doubtless the most autobiographical. Epic might be too grand a word to describe this hefty volume, but big and powerful it certainly is. Though it deals with big issues and the horror of Auschwitz, it avoids being depressing or weighed down. With four parts and four prologues, at least eight major characters, two time frames and some hundred pages of scene setting alone, it does requires some investment by the reader. What we think is the denouement simply leads to more denouements, and if a criticism were to be levelled it would be that this unravelling of threads is too long. This is not a light beach read. But the effort is worthwhile. It's a thriller with intellect, a sensitive treatment of war crimes trials, and something of a love story to boot. (Kirkus UK)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sixth Lamentation book by William Brodrick and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - William Brodrick

In a career change that mirrors Father Anselm's, Bill Brodrick was a Benedictine monk before leaving the order to become a practising barrister. This is his first novel and Agnes's story is loosely based on a journal written by his mother.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by William Brodrick close
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Day of the Lie by William Brodrick
Whispered Name by William Brodrick
Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick
Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick
Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close