Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Sixth Lamentation
By William Brodrick

The Sixth Lamentation

By (author) See other recent books by William Brodrick
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $21.36
Your Price: $19.23 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.14! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.96 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days, Not for Xmas



Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick

Book Awards

  • Runner-up for McKitterick Prize 2004.
  • Shortlisted for British Book Award 2005.
  • Long-listed for Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2005.

Book Description

What should you do if the world has turned against you? When Father Anselm is asked this question by an old man at Larkwood Priory, his response, to claim sanctuary, is to have greater resonance than he could ever have imagined. For that evening the old man returns, demanding the protection of the church. His name is Eduard Schwermann and he is wanted by the police as a suspected war criminal. With her life running out, Agnes Aubret feels it is time to unburden to her granddaughter Lucy the secrets she has been carrying for so long. Fifty years earlier, Agnes had been living in Occupied Paris, a member of a small group risking their lives to smuggle Jewish children to safety - until they were exposed by a young SS Officer: Eduard Schwermann. As Anselm attempts to uncover Schwermann's past, and as Lucy's search into her grandmother's history continues, their investigations dovetail to reveal a remarkable story. 'Brodrick keeps the story going at a cracking pace, flitting back and forth between its various elements, characters and eras with timing so expert the reader is compelled to keep turning the pages' Time Out

Buy Sixth Lamentation book by William Brodrick from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780349121130
ISBN-10: 0349121133
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 131mm x 28mm)
Pages: 448
Imprint: Abacus
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 4-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author William Brodrick

Silent Ones by William Brodrick Silent Ones, Paperback (August 2016)

The latest in CWA Gold dagger winner William Brodrick's much loved Father Anselm series - and Anselm faces the most difficult and troubling case of his life.

Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick Discourtesy of Death, Hardback (July 2016)

An ingenious, gripping thriller for readers of P.D. James and William Boyd

Day of the Lie by William Brodrick Day of the Lie, Paperback (February 2013)

The haunting, utterly magnificent new novel from the bestselling author of The Sixth Lamentation (a Richard & Judy selection) and A Whispered Name (winner of the CWA Gold Dagger).

Whispered Name by William Brodrick Whispered Name, Paperback (July 2009)

A hugely moving and intelligent novel from the bestselling author of The Sixth Lamentation and The Gardens of the Dead, A Whispered Name reaches into the mysteries of one man's past and casts light on the long shadows war leaves behind.

» View all books by William Brodrick

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sixth Lamentation book by William Brodrick and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - William Brodrick

William Brodrick was born in Bolton, Lancashire in 1960. Aged ten the family moved first to Australia and then Canada. He studied philosophy, theology and law, worked with homeless people in London, and then became a barrister, joining a set of chambers in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. He is the author of six Father Anselm novels. The Sixth Lamentation, was a Richard and Judy Book Club Selection, A Whispered Name won the CWA Gold Dagger for 2009 and The Day of the Lie received the Granice Crime Fiction Award at the Krakow Book Fair in 2012 He is married with three children. The family live in Normandy, France.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by William Brodrick close
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Silent Ones by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Discourtesy of Death by William Brodrick
Day of the Lie by William Brodrick
Whispered Name by William Brodrick
Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick
Gardens of the Dead by William Brodrick
Sixth Lamentation by William Brodrick
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close