Sleepless Nights by Elizabeth Hardwick
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Sleepless Nights
By Elizabeth Hardwick

Sleepless Nights

By (author) See other recent books by Elizabeth Hardwick
Introduction by Geoffrey O'Brien See other recent books by Geoffrey O'Brien
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $27.93
Your Price: $25.13 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.79! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.26 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



Sleepless Nights by Elizabeth Hardwick

Book Description

In Sleepless Nights a woman looks back on her life-the parade of people, the shifting background of place-and assembles a scrapbook of memories, reflections, portraits, letters, wishes, and dreams. An inspired fusion of fact and invention, this beautifully realized, hard-bitten, lyrical book is not only Elizabeth Hardwick's finest fiction but one of the outstanding contributions to American literature of the last fifty years.

Buy Sleepless Nights book by Elizabeth Hardwick from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780940322721
ISBN-10: 0940322722
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 127mm x 127mm)
Pages: 144
Imprint: NYRB Classics
Publisher: The New York Review of Books, Inc
Publish Date: 1-May-2001
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Elizabeth Hardwick

New York Stories of Elizabeth Hardwick by Elizabeth Hardwick New York Stories of Elizabeth Hardwick, Paperback (July 2010)

This first collection of Hardwick's short fiction reveals her brilliance as a stylist and as an observer of contemporary life.

Daisy Miller by Elizabeth Hardwick Daisy Miller, Paperback (January 2002)

With an introduction by Elizabeth Hardwick, this book is one of Henry James' concise meditations on Americans in Europe. It also has an endnotes.

Zeno's Conscience by Elizabeth Hardwick Zeno's Conscience, Hardback (September 2001)

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Svevo's charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. 1 map.

» View all books by Elizabeth Hardwick

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » A dazzling and difficult, fragmented and garnet-dark autobiographical novel - in which Hardwick locates "lost things," the singularity of places, and the images of those she has cared about from the Thirties up until the general vicinity of the present. As the times and places swing by - Kentucky ("the cemetery of home, education, nerves, heritage and tics"), Boston, Amsterdam, Maine, Manhattan - scenes and stories and people are caught in bits of lean prose and then brusquely strung together. Singer Billie Holiday, "stately, sinister and determined." Stubbornly doomed domestic workers tripped up by the "unfair disease" of vulnerability and abrupt deprivations. "Skin-and-bones" Communists of the Thirties. The "dead Ph.D.'s" of the Manhattan cocktail scene, revived by wine in the evening to "burst forth with brave little blossoms." A beautiful, self-indulgent, Marxist lover who switches his women from night to night. A courteous Dutch doctor who luxuriously cossets three women. A shopping-bag lady and a muddled, impoverished grande dame: strangers staring at each other on a N.Y. street, unaware of what they share - "mad strength, hideous endurance." And a raucous club-car full of drunk men with bright clothes - those who labor at filling stations for families "that are from their youth already in their eyes." This is a carefully choreographed dance of affective particles, and not easy to encompass. But each set-piece shimmers with piercing observation and long-nurtured feelings; and, though strenuous going as it's being absorbed, this memoir/novel/poem will quietly, slowly sort itself in the sympathetic reader's mind: "The train seems to be always going straight ahead in the lucky, large empty country." (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sleepless Nights book by Elizabeth Hardwick and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Elizabeth Hardwick

Elizabeth Hardwick (b. 1916) has been a frequent contributor to The Partisan Review, The New Yorker, and The New York Review of Books, which she helped found in 1963. Her books include the novels The Simple Truth, The Ghostly Lover, and Sleepless Nights, the essay collection A View of My Own, and The Selected Letters of William James, for which she acted as editor. Geoffrey O'Brien is Editor in Chief of the Library of America. He is the author, most recently, of Sonata for Jukebox: An Autobiography of My Ears and Red Sky Cafe. (October 2008)

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Elizabeth Hardwick close
Dom Casmurro by Elizabeth Hardwick
New York Stories of Elizabeth Hardwick by Elizabeth Hardwick
Daisy Miller by Elizabeth Hardwick
Zeno's Conscience by Elizabeth Hardwick
Seduction and Betrayal by Elizabeth Hardwick
Moby Dick by Elizabeth Hardwick
Morte d'Urban by Elizabeth Hardwick
American Fictions by Elizabeth Hardwick
»
Recent books by Geoffrey O'Brien close
Stolen Glimpses, Captive Shadows by Geoffrey O'Brien
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations by Geoffrey O'Brien
Bartlett's Poems for Occasions by Geoffrey O'Brien
Browser's Ecstasy by Geoffrey O'Brien
Castaways of the Image Planet by Geoffrey O'Brien
Dream Time by Geoffrey O'Brien
Sleepless Nights by Geoffrey O'Brien
Phantom Empire by Geoffrey O'Brien
Hardboiled America by Geoffrey O'Brien
Fall of the House of Walworth by Geoffrey O'Brien
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close