Smashed by Mandy Hager
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Mandy Hager


By (author) See other recent books by Mandy Hager
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $19.99
Your Price: $17.99 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.00! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.90 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Smashed by Mandy Hager

Book Awards

  • Winner of LIANZA Children's Book Awards: Esther Glen Medal for Junior Fiction 2008.
  • Winner of Storylines Notable New Zealand Books: Young Adult Fiction 2008.

Book Description

Friendship, loyalties and values are thrown into confusion by a rape in this gritty YA novel. Smashed tells the story of three teenage friends, and how their friendship, loyalties and values are thrown into confusion when the main character's younger sister is raped by one of his best friends. His reaction sets in motion a "ripple effect", which culminates in a violent act of revenge upon the rapist. Has our hero done this? As he finds himself deep in trouble and confused about the truth, he is forced to the vital question: are we really just puppets controlled by our genes, or do we have the free will to rewrite our own destiny? Smashed is a cautionary tale about growing up - of the huge and complex challenges today's young people face in their lives. Told with humour and compassion it is also, ultimately, a story of courage, love and redemption. Smashed tackles gritty teenage issues such as alcohol, physical and sexual abuse, and anger but award-winning author Mandy Hager delivers it with a sense of humour and great sensitivity. It is a thoughtful, pacy read - one that's hard to put down.

Buy Smashed book by Mandy Hager from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781869419424
ISBN-10: 1869419421
Format: Paperback
(204mm x 141mm x 22mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publisher: Random House New Zealand Ltd
Publish Date: 3-Aug-2007
Country of Publication: New Zealand

Books By Author Mandy Hager


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Smashed book by Mandy Hager and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Mandy Hager

Mandy Hager has been awarded the Katherine Mansfield Menton fellowship for 2014, and she was the 2012 recipient of the New Zealand Society of Authors Beatson Fellowship. She won the Esther Glen Award for Fiction for her YA novel Smashed and Best Young Adult Book in the NZ Post Book Awards 2010 for The Crossing. The Nature of Ash won the LIANZA YA Fiction Award in 2013 and was shortlisted for the 2013 NZ Post Children's Book Awards. Hager has a MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University and an Advanced Diploma in Applied Arts (Writing) from Whitireia Community Polytechnic, where she now works as a tutor and mentor. She lives with her partner on the Kapiti Coast. She has written novels for adults and young adults, short stories, scripts, and non-fiction resources for young people. See more at, and on her Facebook pages for the Blood of the Lamb trilogy and for The Nature of Ash. Internationally acclaimed writer Margaret Mahy proclaimed The Crossing as being like '1984 for teenagers - direct, passionate and powerful', while in the Otago Daily Times children's writer and reviewer Tania Roxborogh similarly drew comparisons between this 'important book' and other literary classics, declaring it 'utterly compelling ... very much in the vein of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale or Lowry's The Giver'. The New Zealand Listener identified The Crossing as 'classic young adult fiction', describing it as 'fast-paced, moving and the personal is always political ... tracking the journey from childhood to adulthood ... [with] an authentic, fully realised sense of place'. The second title in the Blood of the Lamb trilogy, Into the Wilderness, was described by the Listener as a 'sustained, gripping piece of writing, a visceral battle against the elements'. The trilogy concluded with the 'gripping, futuristic'Resurrection. Stand-alone thriller The Nature of Ash received a glowing review from Zac Harding of Christchurch City Library: 'Mandy Hager has set a new standard in thrilling, action-packed stories for NZ teens with her new book, The Nature of Ash, and I'll say it can proudly stand alongside these international, best-selling dystopian thrillers ... The Nature of Ash is an exciting, explosive, action-packed thriller that had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish ... Ash is one of the most authentic male teen characters in New Zealand fiction. ' Graham Beattie on Beattie's Blog, concurred: 'It is not often you would describe a YA novel as a blockbuster but in this case it is totally appropriate ... This 364-page totally gripping Wellington-set thriller has been getting rave reviews around the country and now having read the story myself I am not at all surprised. Action-packed, fast-paced stuff ... Watch out for it in next year's book awards. ' Pip Cole in Tearaway declared herself 'enthralled', while Diane McCarthy commended the real, contemporary settings of this 'political ... futuristic' novel, saying they gave 'some real grit and realism'. She praised Hager for being 'very brave' - 'I don't know of many authors who write political thrillers for teens. ' The Saturday Express saw The Nature of Ash as having wider appeal than the average teen novel, 'part coming-of-age novel, part future warning of where we could end up, politically and socially'. The reviewer noted the 'strong underlying themes of accepting those who are different, standing up for what you believe is important, and self-acceptance', concluding 'Hager could well be New Zealand's answer to Aussie writer John Marsden'.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Mandy Hager close
Singing Home the Whale by Mandy Hager
Resurrection by Mandy Hager
Into the Wilderness by Mandy Hager
Dear Vincent by Mandy Hager
Crossing by Mandy Hager
Nature of Ash by Mandy Hager
Resurrection by Mandy Hager
Into the Wilderness by Mandy Hager
Crossing by Mandy Hager
» close