Storyteller's Daughter by Maria Goodin
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Storyteller's Daughter
By Maria Goodin

The Storyteller's Daughter

By (author) See other recent books by Maria Goodin
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $27.99
Your Price: $25.19 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.80! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.26 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days



Storyteller's Daughter by Maria Goodin

Book Description

Meg May can't remember anything about her early childhood but her cookery-obsessed, fairytale-telling mother has filled her in on all the important details. Meg knows that her father was a French chef who died in a tragic pastry-making accident; that as a premature baby she was put on a sunny windowsill to ripen; and that the scar on her cheek was the result of a nasty nip from one of her mother's crab cakes. But, at eight years old, Meg rebels against this fictional life and decides there and then to turn her back on the world of stories, determined to let logic rule every thought and deed. Now on the verge of a respected scientific career with a scientist boyfriend who believes only in facts, Meg is called home. Her mother is ill and as Meg spends one last beautiful summer baking, gardening and talking with her mother, rediscovering what's important, she longs to know the reality of her life - but Meg may not discover the truth in time. A poignant, funny and heartwarming novel of mothers and daughters, families and secrets, this is a book to lose - and find yourself - in.

Buy Storyteller's Daughter book by Maria Goodin from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781743312865
ISBN-10: 1743312865
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (190mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 280
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 1-Dec-2012
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...


You might also like...

Tiger Milk by Stefanie de Velasco Tiger Milk by Stefanie de Velasco

An explosive literary debut, tender and funny, shocking and tragic, about the friendship between two fourteen-year-old girls on the loose during a long, hot summer in Berlin.

Listener - A Novel by Rachel Basch Listener - A Novel by Rachel Basch

A wise and witty novel about the challenges to identity that arise in both adolescence and middle age and of the college freshman and school psychologist who just may have the power to save each other."

Animals - A Novel by Christian Kiefer Animals - A Novel by Christian Kiefer

For fans of Denis Johnson and Peter Matthiessen, a literary thriller from one of the most exciting new voices in American fiction.

Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth

Offers a love story as well as the tale of a country awakening from long years of colonial rule. This title is about Lata, and of her mother's exacting attempts to find her the perfect husband. It also recounts India's troubles shaping its own destiny as the country marches towards its first great General Election.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Maria Goodin

Storyteller'S Daughter by Maria Goodin Storyteller'S Daughter, Paperback (March 2013)

Meg May can't remember anything about her early childhood but her cookery - obsessed, fairytale - telling mother has filled her in on all the important details. Meg knows that her father was a French chef who died in a tragic pastry - making accident; that as a premature baby she was put on a sunny windowsill to ripen; and that the scar on her c...

Nutmeg by Maria Goodin Nutmeg, Paperback (April 2012)

Meg is growing up in a world of food filled fantasy; where her first tooth was so sharp her mother used her as a can opener, and eating too many apples once left her spitting pips. Then she is humiliated in front of the other children at school and turns her back on the world of fiction, deciding to let logic rule her everyday thoughts and deeds.

» View all books by Maria Goodin

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Storyteller's Daughter book by Maria Goodin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Maria Goodin close
From the Kitchen of Half Truth by Maria Goodin
Storyteller'S Daughter by Maria Goodin
Nutmeg by Maria Goodin
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close