Summer of the Danes by Ellis Peters
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Summer of the Danes
By Ellis Peters

The Summer of the Danes

By (author) See other recent books by Ellis Peters
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $18.38
Your Price: $16.54 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.84! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.83 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days

Summer of the Danes by Ellis Peters

Book Description

In the summer of 1144, a strange calm has settled over England. The armies of King Stephen and Empress Maud have temporarily exhausted each other. Brother Cadfael considers peace a blessing, but a little excitement never comes amiss to a former soldier and Cadfael is delighted to accompany his young friend, Brother Mark, on a mission of church diplomacy to his native Wales, not expecting to be caught up in yet another royal feud. The Welsh prince Owain Gwynedd has banished his brother Cadwaladr, accusing him of the treacherous murder of an ally. The reckless Cadwaldr has retaliated by landing an army of Danish mercenaries, poised to invade Wales and retake his lost lands. As the two armies teeter on the brink of bloody civil war, Cadfael is captured by the Danes together with a headstrong young woman fleeing an arranged marriage, but before he can untangle such domestic passions, Cadfael has to survive the brotherly quarrel that could plunge an entire kingdom into deadly chaos.

Buy Summer of the Danes book by Ellis Peters from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780751511185
ISBN-10: 0751511188
Format: Paperback
(177mm x 109mm x 18mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Sphere
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 19-May-1994
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Ellis Peters

Rare Benedictine by Ellis Peters Rare Benedictine, Paperback (March 2016)

Introducing the medieval sleuth Brother Cadfael. This beautifully illustrated collection of short stories written by Ellis Peters tells the tale of how Brother Cadfael, one of our most beloved sleuths, became a monk, and entered a world of mystery, intrigue and treachery.

Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters Morbid Taste for Bones, Paperback / softback (November 2014)

Originally published in Great Britain in 1977.

One Corpse Too Many by Ellis Peters One Corpse Too Many, Paperback / softback (November 2014)

"The second chronicle of Brother Cadfael, of the Benedictine Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, at Shrewsbury " --Title page.

» View all books by Ellis Peters


US Kirkus Review » It's the summer of 1144, and Brother Cadfael, herbalist-sleuth of Shrewsbury's Benedictine Abbey, has joined wise young Brother Mark on a diplomatic mission to newly installed Bishop Gilbert of St. Aspath's Church in Wales. They're soon caught up in the affairs of warring brother princes Oswain and Cadwaladr - the latter has been lying low, disgraced by his brutal actions but soon to surface with a force of Danish mercenaries to try to recover the lands taken from him in punishment by his older brother. Cadfael, Mark, and another traveler - rebellious Heledd, daughter of Canon Meirion, on her way to an arranged marriage - are captured by the Danes and held hostage. There's a murder - not solved by Cadfael this time - and many battles of words and weapons before it's all over and Cadfael can return to the peace of his abbey. Densely packed with Welsh names and stately conversations, this isn't one of Peters's more vivacious efforts (Flight of a Witch, p. 441, etc.). English-history buffs and faithful fans will be pleased. Others may find the going a bit weighty. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Summer of the Danes book by Ellis Peters and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Ellis Peters

Ellis Peters is one of the pseudonyms of Edith Pargeter who wrote several books under her own name and also Peter Benedict, Jolyon Carr and John Redfern. She was the recipient of the Crime Writers Association and the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award. She died in 1995.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Ellis Peters close
Rare Benedictine by Ellis Peters
Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters
One Corpse Too Many by Ellis Peters
Monk's Hood by Ellis Peters
Devil's Novice by Ellis Peters
Sanctuary Sparrow by Ellis Peters
Dead Man's Ransom by Ellis Peters
Saint Peter's Fair by Ellis Peters
Virgin in the Ice by Ellis Peters
Leper of Saint Giles by Ellis Peters
Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters
One Corpse Too Many by Ellis Peters
Monk's-Hood by Ellis Peters
Oxford Bookworms Library: Level 4: A Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters
Potter's Field by Ellis Peters
Pilgrim of Hate by Ellis Peters
Holy Thief by Ellis Peters
Seventh Cadfael Omnibus by Ellis Peters
Dead Man's Ransom by Ellis Peters
Devil's Novice by Ellis Peters
» close