Sun and the Moon by Matthew Goodman
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Sun and the Moon
By Matthew Goodman

The Sun and the Moon

The Remarkable True Account of Hoaxers, Showmen, Dueling Journalists, and Lunar Man-bats in Nineteenth-Century New York

By (author) See other recent books by Matthew Goodman
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $44.99
Your Price: $40.49 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.02 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Sun and the Moon by Matthew Goodman

Book Description

This is the remarkable story of the outrageous newspaper hoax that captivated 19th century America and gave birth to tabloid journalism.1835 was an extraordinary year in New York City. As the most populous city in America, business was booming, its port was the busiest in the world, and a huge surge in construction was rapidly transforming the city. It was a chaotic time when anything could happen, and for a few weeks during that sweltering summer, something quite extraordinary did: the "New York Sun", the first of the city's 'penny papers', perpetrated one of the greatest hoaxes of all time when it convinced the people of New York that the moon was inhabited.In an Orson Welles-like feat that presaged the War of the Worlds radio hoax by a little over a century, the "Sun" ran a series of seven articles presenting new findings by a famous astronomer about forms of life on the moon. In astonishing detail, the author presented the various alien beings - the birds, buffalo, one-horned zebras, and four-foot-tall man-bats. As a result of the moon series, the "Sun" - an upstart working-class newspaper less than two years old - became the largest-selling newspaper in the world, and for the first time, newspapers became a truly mass market medium.Those who have written about the Moon Hoax in the past (and there are very few of them) claim that it was perpetrated by the newspaper to increase circulation. But in fact, Matthew Goodman shows, the hoax had a far more earnest basis. Its author was Richard Adams Locke, an English radical who had very strong ideas about the importance of protecting free scientific inquiry from theological influence. At the time, the most popular astronomers were the so-called religious astronomers, who believed that every heavenly body (including the moon) was inhabited, because God would not create a world without also creating intelligent beings to appreciate it. Locke intended his moon series as a satire of the religious astronomers-but his stories were so vivid that people actually believed what he had written.This extraordinary story also brings in a host of sub-plots, each more bizarre than the first, involving names such as showman PT Barnum and writer Edgar Allen Poe. In "The Sun and the Moon", Goodman vividly brings to life a town on the brink of becoming a world-class city - the sites, the smells, the sounds. It is a world utterly strange and yet in many ways familiar, in which newsboys hustle their papers, editors jostle for the latest scoop, authors accuse other authors of plagiarism, science and religion compete for intellectual ascendancy, and everyone has their eyes glued to a newspaper.

Buy Sun and the Moon book by Matthew Goodman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780465002573
ISBN-10: 0465002579
Format: Hardback
(236mm x 156mm x 30mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Basic Books
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 7-Aug-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Matthew Goodman

Book Cover Designs by Matthew Goodman Book Cover Designs, Paperback (January 2016)

Look at more than 500 book cover designs and listen to more than 50 of today's top designers discuss their process for creating the perfect book cover. This collection of covers includes titles from fiction to nonfiction, history to science books, novels to short stories, old favorites to popular 21st century titles.

Eighty Days by Matthew Goodman Eighty Days, Paperback (March 2014)

Originally published in hardcover in 2013.

Sun and the Moon by Matthew Goodman Sun and the Moon, Paperback (May 2010)

In the tradition of "Devil in the White City" and "The War of the Worlds," the remarkable true story of the hoax that bewildered nineteenth-century America.

» View all books by Matthew Goodman

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sun and the Moon book by Matthew Goodman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Matthew Goodman

Matthew Goodman's fiction and non-fiction writing has appeared in many magazines and literary journals in America. A lifetime New Yorker, he lives in New York City with his wife and children.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Matthew Goodman close
Book Cover Designs by Matthew Goodman
Eighty Days by Matthew Goodman
Sun and the Moon by Matthew Goodman
Lester Dent's Zeppelin Tales by Matthew Goodman
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close