Temptation by V aclav Havel
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By V aclav Havel


A Play in Ten Scenes

By (author) See other recent books by V aclav Havel
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $22.82
Your Price: $20.54 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.28! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.03 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

Temptation by V aclav Havel

Book Description

In his most challenging work to date, Czech playwright Vaclav Havel has given the Faust legend a provocative twist. His setting is the Institute, whose mission is to combat the irrational tendencies in society through its scientific work. Personal and professional relationships at this lighthouse of truthful knowledge are a tissue of lies and sycophancy in which all concerned willingly collude. The only tempest in this teapot of careerism is Dr Foustka, who has lately been smitten by metaphysical doubt and is rumored to be dabbling in the black arts. His mentor, the unlikely Mephistopheles of the piece, is a dwarflike old man with smelly feet and a slippery logic that irresistibly appeals to Foustka's intellectual hubris. With great wit and originality Havel follows the familiar outlines of the story to a unique conclusion at a witches' sabbath garden party organized by the Institute's crafty director in the spirit of modern group-costume therapy. For Havel, the rational carried to surreal lengths of irrationality is not a theatrical technique but a fact of life in Czechoslovakia since the Soviet invasion of 1968. Yet in universalizing his tale through the Faust legend, he forcefully reminds us that under conditions of modern bureaucracy neither East nor West holds a monopoly on the sale of souls.

Buy Temptation book by V aclav Havel from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780802131003
ISBN-10: 080213100X
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 135mm x 8mm)
Pages: 102
Imprint: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publisher: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publish Date: 12-Jan-1994
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author V aclav Havel

Summer Meditations by V aclav Havel Summer Meditations, Paperback

In a work written while he was president of Czechoslovakia, Havel offers profound reflections upon the nature and practice of politics throughout the world, and extends a stirring call for a moral political system, a responsible free market, and a statecraft that honors human needs.

» View all books by V aclav Havel


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Temptation book by V aclav Havel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - V aclav Havel

Havel went to prison in 1979 for his dedication to human rights. In 1989, he became president of Czechoslovakia and since 1993 he has been president of the Czech Republic. A world-renowned playwright, he is also the author of The Art of the Impossible.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by V aclav Havel close
Summer Meditations by V aclav Havel
BoomerangBooks.com.au close