Them by Nathan McCall
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Nathan McCall


By (author) See other recent books by Nathan McCall
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $22.99
Your Price: $20.69 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.03 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Them by Nathan McCall

Book Description

The author of the bestselling memoir Makes Me Wanna Holler presents a profound debut novel -- in the tradition of Tom Wolfe's "Bonfire of the Vanities" and Zadie Smith's "White Teeth" -- that captures the dynamics of class and race in today's urban integrated communities. Nathan McCall's novel, "Them," tells a compelling story set in a downtown Atlanta neighborhood known for its main street, Auburn Avenue, which once was regarded as the "richest Negro street in the world." The story centers around Barlowe Reed, a single, forty-something African American who rents a ramshackle house on Randolph Street, just a stone's throw from the historic birth home of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Barlowe, who works as a printer, otherwise passes the time reading and hanging out with other men at the corner store. He shares his home and loner existence with a streetwise, twentysomething nephew who is struggling to get his troubled life back on track. When Sean and Sandy Gilmore, a young white couple, move in next door, Barlowe and Sandy develop a reluctant, complex friendship as they hold probing -- often frustrating -- conversations over the backyard fence. Members of both households, and their neighbors as well, try to go about their business, tending to their homes and jobs. However, fear and suspicion build -- and clashes ensue -- with each passing day, as more and more new whites move in and make changes and once familiar people and places disappear. Using a blend of superbly developed characters in a story that captures the essence of this country's struggles with the unsettling realities of gentrification, McCall has produced a truly great American novel.

Buy Them book by Nathan McCall from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781416549161
ISBN-10: 1416549161
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 135mm x 24mm)
Pages: 339
Imprint: Simon Spotlight Entertainment
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 1-Dec-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...

Books By Author Nathan McCall

Manchild in the Promised Land by Nathan McCall Manchild in the Promised Land, Hardback (March 2012)

1965 bestseller that chronicles the author's harrowing childhood of violent crime and poverty in Harlem was heralded as a classic of American writing.

Makes ME Wanna Holler by Nathan McCall Makes ME Wanna Holler, Paperback (March 1995)

Examining the complexities of the problems of Black youths from an insider's perspective, an African-American journalist recalls his troubled childhood, his rehabilitation while in prison, and his successful career.

» View all books by Nathan McCall


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Them book by Nathan McCall and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Nathan McCall close
Manchild in the Promised Land by Nathan McCall
Makes ME Wanna Holler by Nathan McCall
Manchild in the Promised Land by Nathan McCall
» close