Three Power Plays by David Pinner
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Three Power Plays
By David Pinner

Three Power Plays

"The Drums of Snow" "Richelieu" "Prince of Traitors"

By (author) See other recent books by David Pinner
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $28.95
Your Price: $26.06 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.89! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.30 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply

Three Power Plays by David Pinner

Book Description

An epic play set in the 17th Century, "The Drums of Snow" focuses on the power struggle between Charles I and Oliver Cromwell, with John Lilburne, the Leveller, and the English people as their unwilling victims. The vicissitudes of the Civil War culminate in the royal despot's death and a Puritan dictatorship that changes the course of English history. "Richelieu" is an epic of the same period, exploring the rise of the tormented Catholic Cardinal, who elevates Louis XIII to god-like status in order to pacify war-torn France. Richelieu sacrifices himself to a secure but repressive royal kingdom and unwittingly sows the seeds of the French Revolution. "Prince of Traitors" is a sardonic comedy about the achievements of a witty, club-footed Anglophile Bishop who manages to outlive Robespierre. After becoming Napoleon's First Minister, Talleyrand helps bring about the Emperor's downfall, claiming that 'treachery is noble when its target is tyranny'.

Buy Three Power Plays book by David Pinner from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781840025972
ISBN-10: 1840025972
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 130mm x 17mm)
Pages: 267
Imprint: Oberon Books Ltd
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Books By Author David Pinner

Joy of Misery: Four One Act Plays by David Pinner Joy of Misery: Four One Act Plays, Paperback (May 2012)

A collection of one-act plays by one of British Theatre's most distinctive voices, these short plays parade David Pinner's enthrallment with the political, the farcical, the sexual and, above all, the miserable. Contains the plays Cartoon, An Evening with the G.L.C., Shakebag, and Succubus.

Vampire Trilogy by David Pinner Vampire Trilogy, Paperback (April 2011)

The only three vampire stage plays on the market.

Oh, to be in England by David Pinner Oh, to be in England, Paperback (January 2011)

Controversial play, previously deemed impossible to produce in light of political content.

» View all books by David Pinner


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Three Power Plays book by David Pinner and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by David Pinner close
Ritual by David Pinner
Joy of Misery: Four One Act Plays by David Pinner
Ritual by David Pinner
Vampire Trilogy by David Pinner
Oh, to be in England by David Pinner
Lenin in Love by David Pinner
» close