Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Three Sisters
By Bi Feiyu

Three Sisters

By (author) See other recent books by Bi Feiyu
Translated by Howard Goldblatt See other recent books by Howard Goldblatt
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $21.71
Your Price: $19.54 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $6.95 per order
You Save: $2.17! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.98 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu

Book Awards

  • Long-listed for Man Asian Literary Prize 2011.

Book Description

Three sisters struggle to change the course of their destinies in a China that does not belong to them. Yumi uses her dignity, Yuxiu her seductive powers, and Yuyang her desire for success. This breathtaking story vividly captures the demonic desire for power that possesses people. Whether it's in the village of the Wang family, where life is attuned to the rhythm of working the fields and the slogans of the cultural revolution, or in the Peking of the 1980s, not one of these women is prepared to be just another wave in the 'infinite ocean of people'. It is an epic portrayal of life in modern China.

Buy Three Sisters book by Bi Feiyu from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781846590238
ISBN-10: 184659023X
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (200mm x 130mm x mm)
Pages: 347
Imprint: Telegram Books
Publisher: Telegram Books
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2010
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

Boo by Neil Smith Boo by Neil Smith

When Oliver 'Boo' Dalrymple wakes up in heaven, the eighth-grade science geek thinks he died of a heart defect at his school. But soon after arriving in this hereafter reserved for dead thirteen-year-olds, Boo discovers he's a 'gommer', a kid who was murdered. What's more, his killer may also be in heaven.

Barbara the Slut and Other People by Lauren Holmes Barbara the Slut and Other People by Lauren Holmes

'An astonishing collection-one of those rare books that manages to be both poignant and hilarious. The last time we had a debut this big was Junot Diaz with 'Drown'. Holmes is a major talent.' Philipp Meyer A fresh, honest, and darkly funny debut collection about family, friends, and lovers, and the flaws that make us most human.

Among the Ten-Thousand Things Among the Ten-Thousand Things

An exciting new voice in American fiction in the tradition of Claire Messud, Jonathan Franzen and Jonathan Dee

Odysseus Abroad by Amit Chaudhuri Odysseus Abroad by Amit Chaudhuri

A brilliant exposition of loneliness, failure and the experience of living as a foreigner abroad in Thatcher's Britain

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Bi Feiyu

Moon Opera by Bi Feiyu Moon Opera, Paperback (September 2007)

Set against the dramatic backdrop of the Peking Opera, this portrait shows the extent to which a desperate woman will embrace an exalted image of herself in an effort to flee earthly concerns.

» View all books by Bi Feiyu

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Three Sisters book by Bi Feiyu and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Bi Feiyu

Bi Feiyu was born in 1964 in Xinghua, in the province of Jiangsu, China. He is the recipient of many literary prizes, including the Lu Xun Prize in 1996. He co-wrote the film Shanghai Triad, which was directed by acclaimed Chinese director Zhang Yimou. His novel, The Moon Opera, was published by Telegram in 2007.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Bi Feiyu close
Moon Opera by Bi Feiyu
Massage by Bi Feiyu
»
Recent books by Howard Goldblatt close
City of the Queen by Howard Goldblatt
POW! by Howard Goldblatt
Frog by Howard Goldblatt
I Did Not Kill My Husband by Howard Goldblatt
Song of King Gesar by Howard Goldblatt
Song of King Gesar by Howard Goldblatt
Pow! by Howard Goldblatt
Change by Howard Goldblatt
Three Sisters by Howard Goldblatt
Binu and the Great Wall of China by Howard Goldblatt
Binu and the Great Wall by Howard Goldblatt
Loud Sparrows by Howard Goldblatt
Old Capital by Howard Goldblatt
Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Literature by Howard Goldblatt
Big Breasts, Wide Hips by Howard Goldblatt
Garlic Ballads by Howard Goldblatt
Retribution by Howard Goldblatt
Shifu, You'll Do Anything for a Laugh by Howard Goldblatt
Taste of Apples by Howard Goldblatt
Rose, Rose, I Love You by Howard Goldblatt
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close