Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Three Sisters
By Bi Feiyu

Three Sisters

By (author) See other recent books by Bi Feiyu
Translated by Howard Goldblatt See other recent books by Howard Goldblatt
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...




Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu

Book Awards

  • Long-listed for Man Asian Literary Prize 2011.

Book Description

Three sisters struggle to change the course of their destinies in a China that does not belong to them. Yumi uses her dignity, Yuxiu her seductive powers, and Yuyang her desire for success. This breathtaking story vividly captures the demonic desire for power that possesses people. Whether it's in the village of the Wang family, where life is attuned to the rhythm of working the fields and the slogans of the cultural revolution, or in the Peking of the 1980s, not one of these women is prepared to be just another wave in the 'infinite ocean of people'. It is an epic portrayal of life in modern China.

Buy Three Sisters book by Bi Feiyu from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9781846590238
ISBN-10: 184659023X
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (200mm x 130mm x mm)
Imprint: Telegram Books
Publisher: Telegram Books
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2010
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Customers who bought this also bought...


You might also like...

Look to the Lady by Margery Allingham Look to the Lady by Margery Allingham

Albert Campion foils the attempted kidnapping of Val Gyrth, current heir to the Gyrth family and guardian-elect of the Chalice entrusted to the clan centuries ago. Escorting Val home to the village of Sanctuary, Campion reveals that Chalice is being targeted by an untouchable ring of wealthy thieves intent on supplementing their treasure trove.

This One is Mine by Maria Semple This One is Mine by Maria Semple

The sparkling debut novel of Maria Semple, author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE?

Company You Keep by Neil Gordon Company You Keep by Neil Gordon

A smart, action-packed political thriller from the author of The Company You Keep and You're A Big Girl Now, perfect for fans of John Le Carre.

Mood Indigo by Boris Vian Mood Indigo by Boris Vian

Colin is a wealthy young aristocrat, a slim, innocent creature who loves easily. The instant he sees Chloe, bass drums thump inside his shirt, and soon the two are married. Typically generous, Colin gives a quarter of his fortune to his best friend Chick so he can marry Chloe's friend Alyssum.

» View more books like these...

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Three Sisters book by Bi Feiyu and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Bi Feiyu

Bi Feiyu was born in 1964 in Xinghua, in the province of Jiangsu, China. He is the recipient of many literary prizes, including the Lu Xun Prize in 1996. He co-wrote the film Shanghai Triad, which was directed by acclaimed Chinese director Zhang Yimou. His novel, The Moon Opera, was published by Telegram in 2007.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Bi Feiyu close
»
Recent books by Howard Goldblatt close
City of the Queen by Howard Goldblatt
Song of King Gesar by Howard Goldblatt
Song of King Gesar by Howard Goldblatt
Republic of Wine by Howard Goldblatt
Shifu, You'll Do Anything for a Laugh by Howard Goldblatt
Pow! by Howard Goldblatt
Change by Howard Goldblatt
Ward Four by Howard Goldblatt
Change by Howard Goldblatt
Loud Sparrows by Howard Goldblatt
Old Capital by Howard Goldblatt
Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Literature by Howard Goldblatt
Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Literature by Howard Goldblatt
Loud Sparrows by Howard Goldblatt
Execution of Mayor Yin by Howard Goldblatt
Retribution by Howard Goldblatt
Red Poppies by Howard Goldblatt
Taste of Apples by Howard Goldblatt
Rose, Rose, I Love You by Howard Goldblatt
Notes of a Desolate Man by Howard Goldblatt
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close